PROSANCTUS INFERI premiere new track at

Today, deviant black/death duo Prosanctus Inferi premiere the new track “Hypnotic Blood Art” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track hails from the band’s highly anticipated third album, Hypnotic Blood Art, set for international release on August 15th via Nuclear War Now! Productions. Hear Prosanctus Inferi‘s title track “Hypnotic Blood Art” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

For 15 years, Ohio’s Prosanctus Inferi has unassumingly amassed an impressive catalog of deviant black/death metal. Their sound is distinctive and warped, as are the accompanying conceptual explorations and aesthetic visions. On Prosanctus Inferi’s third full-length, Hypnotic Blood Art, the band has further refined its approach, painstakingly sculpting the songs, chiseling details and carving away superfluous material.

In the early days, Prosanctus Inferi was a duo consisting of guitarist/vocalist Jake Kohn and drummer Steve Mercer, who was later replaced by Antichristus until his death in 2010. Since then, Kohn has remained the only consistent member. For the last full-length, 2013’s Noctambulous Jaws Within Sempiternal NightProsanctus Inferi operated as a three-piece, but this new album finds them active once more as a duo, with Kohn accompanied by drummer Jeremy Spears, who has been in the band since 2010.

With each release, Prosanctus Inferi has tightened and focused its sound, perfecting its pummeling power. On Hypnotic Blood Art, Kohn sheds some of the technicality and velocity of his prior performances in favor of a heavier sound, reflecting, in many ways, a return to the band’s foundations. The instrumentation on Hypnotic Blood Art is tightly coiled, anxious. The riffs are taut and lean, their potential fully realized through the kinetic force of the percussion. As with all of Prosanctus Inferi’s recordings, eccentric flourishes abound throughout Hypnotic Blood Art, adding dimension and distinction to the work.

Lyrically and conceptually, Kohn also harkens back to the band’s earlier days, with a focus on medieval and renaissance conceptions of Hell and damnation—topics that figured prominently on the demo recordings. This album is, therefore, the culmination of the band’s work thus far, the fulfillment of its potential, and, yet, still offers stylistic innovation and development for one of the most intriguing and dynamic American bands of the last two decades.

In the meantime, hear the brand-new title track “Hypnotic Blood Art” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Also hear the previously revealed “Dark Scarp of Hell” HERE at Nuclear War Now!‘s Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Prosanctus Inferi’s Hypnotic Blood Art

1. Dark Scarp of Hell
2. Pulpit Sycophants
3. Sheol Below
4. Hypnotic Blood Art
5. Blood Synod
6. Torture Enraped
7. Bellicose Spiritual Violence
8. Void Called as Black Bonds
9. Geist Enthralled
10. Washed in the Blood
11. The Fearful Pit


Related posts



PROSANCTUS INFERI set release date for new NUCLEAR WAR NOW! album, reveal first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.