INFERI – Technical Melodic Death Metal Act Premiere “Aeons Torn” At Decibel Mag. Of Sunless Realms out Oct. 9th via THE ARTISAN ERA

Seasoned technical melodic death metal favorites Inferi recently announced their upcoming EP, Of Sunless Realms. The 5-song effort will be released on October 9th via The Artisan Era. It is the follow up to the group’s 2019 re-worked prior album, The End of an Era | Rebirth, and the next step in the group’s continual evolution following their beloved 2018 full-length, Revenant. 

After blowing up worldwide upon the 2014 release of The Path of Apotheosis, Inferi has been on a relentless tear, not only dropping two releases since then but touring non-stop as well. During which time the group toured across the USA, Canada, and Europe with high-profile acts such as Obscura, Archspire, Beneath The Massacre, Paladin, Exist, Rivers of Nihil, Wormhole, Virvum, Warforged, and countless others. 

Now in 2020, with touring having ground to a halt due to COVID-19, the band was able to focus on finishing their next offering of top-notch material which became Of Sunless Realms. Of Sunless Realms continues the band’s well-established sound steeped in catchy melodies, orchestral grandeur, and high-octane aggression, delivered in a bombastic and elegant way all their own.

Today the band partnered with Decibel Magazine to premiere “Aeons Torn”.

Inferi – “Aeons Torn” can be heard HERE

Decibel comments on the launch of “Aeons Torn” 
“Yes, despite being a surprise release, the band’s pace is par for the course, even if the densely dark symphonics and intricate technicality suggest doing so is practically inhuman. No, the real surprise comes in sole single “Aeons Torn” and ITS pace. The track is slow — well, for these typically lightning-fast shredders. Sludge or drone it ain’t.

The stunted speed allows dissonant darkness to seethe. Piano arpeggios bubble to the surface in the space between. The soloing toes the line between the epic triumph sewn into much of the band’s material and a deep mourning. Short bursts of speed punch hard, even as the track ramps up its velocity in the second half. Mid-paced blast beats — again, by this band’s standards — rain, and the number of notes still surpasses the reasonable threshold to near ridiculous.

All of which is to say it’s perfect for fans of Inferi, even if it isn’t perfectly in-line with what you’d expect from them.”

Inferi – Of Sunless Realms Pre-Order Links
US •

Inferi – Of Sunless Realms Line-Up
Malcolm Pugh – Guitar, Backing Vocals (A Loathing Requiem, ex-Entheos, etc.)
Mike Low – Guitar (Oubliette, ex-Enfold Darkness)
Stevie Boiser – Vocals (Equipoise, Ashen Horde, Tethys, etc.)
Andrew Kim – Bass 
Spencer Moore – Drums

Social Media Links 
The Artisan Era YouTube Channel

Related posts

INFERI – Technical Melodic Death Metal Act Launch Early Of Sunless Realms Stream At Invisible Oranges


INFERI – Technical Melodic Death Metal Act Announce New EP, Of Sunless Realms. Unveil Artwork & Release Information. Out Oct. 9th via THE ARTISAN ERA


INFERI – Technical Melodic Death Act Premiere “Forged in the Phlegethon” At Toilet Ov Hell


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.