“Anthelion” Highlights The Elaborate, Elegant Complexities of EVERY HOUR KILLS’ “Re:Awaken”

Photo: L-R Sacha Laskow (Guitar & Programming) | Jerrod Maxwell-Lyster (Vocals) | Brent Stutsky (Bass) Photo Edit: Empirius

Canada’s Every Hour Kills have the third single off the upcoming EP “Re:Awaken” ready for ears. The second of four tracks on the album is spacey, heavy with a complex barrage of sounds making it truly euphonic.

“Re:Awaken” is a concept album with a rich and colourful story that plays into the lore of Every Hour Kills. It sends the listener into the 22nd century, where humanity is deteriorating and the only help seems to come from a race of aliens, the Illusions. Their proposition was simple: in exchange for children who had not yet been consumed by the plague, they would give us medicine to heal the sick.

The single “Anthelion” features a guest guitar solo from Travis Montgomery of Threat Signal, Meytal, and Kill The Lights and is an angry tale of a man having his autonomy and rights taken away by the elite race and the loss of privacy in the new technological age. The band explains the listening experience in their own words:

“It is meant to smash together progressive metal with a cinematic film score. There are literally hundreds of tracks of synth and orchestration going on underneath the metal band foundation; so, each listen should uncover new tidbit of ear candy and layers, especially with headphones or good speakers!”

As an internet-only project, Every Hour Kills leverages this sole focus in bringing in a wide variety of guest artists from around the world and collaborates with artists of all kinds. This EP comes with a visual storybook from Splice Comics that supplement the themes of the band.

Geared towards fans of sci-fi, djent, and progressive metal, especially those with Scar Symmetry, Starset, and Bring Me the Horizon in their rotation “Re:Awaken” comes out on October 9, 2020.

The single “Anthelion” can be heard via its premiere on NewFuryMedia HERE

The full EP “Re:Awaken” will be releasing on October 9, 2020. EP Pre-Save HERE.

Previous singles:
 “Veiled Aurora” YouTubeSpotifyFacebook
“Time” ft. guest guitar solo Rick Graham (Joe Satriani cover) YouTube

Track Listing:
1. Veiled Aurora (ft. guest vocals Shaley Bourget of Dayshell, Of Mice & Men & guest guitar solo Morgan Reid of Bloodshot Dawn) (4:18)
2. Anthelion (ft. guest vocals Chris Thoresen (Shark Infested Daughters & guest guitar solo Travis Montgomery of Threat Signal, Meytal) (4:26)
3. Re:awaken (4:12)
4. Time ft. guest guitar solo Rick Graham (Joe Satriani cover) (5:04)
5. Veiled Aurora (Instrumental) (4:18)
6. Anthelion (Instrumental) (4:26)
7. Re:awaken (Instrumental) (4:12)
8.  Time (Joe Satriani cover) (Instrumental) (5:04)

More info:

Related posts

Breakdowns and Synthwave Collide On EVERY HOUR KILLS’ Collaboration w/ Chris Wiseman (Shadow of Intent) On “Tenebrous”


Streaming Now! EVERY HOUR KILLS (ft. guests from Vildhjarta, Shadow of Intent) New EP “Vacua”


EVERY HOUR KILLS’ “Vacua” Is a Harsh Reflection On A Year Of Chaos And Turmoil


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.