Canada’s T-REX MARATHON Get Political With “Faux News” Off Upcoming Album “Days Without Incident”

L-R- Alex Hodges (guitar, vocals), Jeremy Toppings (bass, vocals), Darien Swolfs (drums), Adam Sakauye (lead vocals) and Aaron Stafford (guitar, vocals)

Ottawa’s T-Rex Marathon is releasing their first full-length album this year and it is chock full of melodic, energetic, and authentic pop-punk and post-hardcore.

The reception T-Rex Marathon is hoping for is one of mild nostalgia. As much as they are a new band, they aim to send their listeners back in time to the 2010 era when life felt a little simpler and times were a little happier for their fans. 

That is exactly what their new album, “Days Without Incident” does. The nostalgia is the initial hook, however progressing through the album, the listener takes in the sonic variety they’ve provided leaving a complex emotional response. Each of the songs was carefully chosen to reflect the past, present, and future of the band. They tell a story of a fledgling high school band that’s growing up and becoming a serious act with a message to say.

The first single from the album is “Faux News” and T-Rex Marathon shares the motivation behind it: 

“Let’s get political. The title is a pun on “Fox News” and fake news (as if it wasn’t obvious). It’s us holding a mirror to our neighbours to the south and diagnosing some of the more obvious issues with them and by extension, the rest of the western world.”

Making use of a stadium punk style sound (a la Billy Talent), the band explores ideas of consumerism, kabuki theatre democracy, individual responsibility, and what it means to exist in the world we do. The song is catchy, simple, and easy to shout along with and is the kind of song that would galvanize young budding activists to dive deeper into the ideas the band is trying to convey.

For fans of Silverstein, Billy Talent, and Alexisonfire; “Faux News” can be heard via its premiere on GhostCultMag HERE

The full release of “Days Without Incident” is out on October 16, 2020. 
Album pre-order at and pre-save on Spotify, Apple Music here.

Track Listing:
1. All For Nothing (2:56)
2. No Words (4:56)
3. Faux News (3:05)
4. A Prison Just For Us (4:08)
5. Turnpike (4:06)
6. Pick Your Poison (4:58)
7. Misfits (4:24)
8. Sheltered (4:01)
9. Futures and Goodbyes (4:32)
10. 5 Centimeters Per Second (5:58)
Album Length: 43:09

Album Credits:
• All songs performed by: T-Rex Marathon
• All songs written by: T-Rex Marathon
• Produced by: T-Rex Marathon and Mike Bond
• Mixed by: Mike Bond
• Mastered by: Mike Bond
• Album Artwork by: Jeremy Toppings
• Member of SOCAN
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

Album and Live Band Line Up:
Aaron Stafford – Guitar/Bass/Keys/Vocals
Adam Sakauye – Lead Vocals
Alex Hodges – Guitar/Bass/KeysVocals
Darien Swolfs – Drums/Percussion
Jeremy Toppings – Bass/Vocals

For more info:

Related posts

T-REX MARATHON Pay Homage To Alexisonfire w/ Video “A Prison Just For Us”


Canada’s T-REX MARATHON Streaming New Album “Days Without Incident”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.