Greece’s SAD set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track


Today, Purity ThroughFire sets October 31st as the international release date for the long-awaited seventh album of Greece’s SadMisty Breath of Ancient Forests, on CD, vinyl LP, and limited-edition A5 digipack formats.

Since 2005, Greece’s Sad have been a madly prolific bastion of pure ‘n’ cold black metal. Their canon is vast and varied – VERY relatively so, given that this is all-caps BLACK METAL after all – with the longstanding duo of instrumentalist Ungod and vocalist Nadir exploring the darkest corridors of their souls every step of the way. They’ve done so across a half-dozen albums for such esteemed labels as Drakkar, Obscure Abhorrence, and Old Temple among others as well as a dozen splits, and now they join forces with the Purity ThroughFire stronghold to deliver their most ancient work yet: Misty Breath of Ancient Forests.


Ever aptly titled, Misty Breath of Ancient Forests is the sound of Sad at their most Nordic and ’90s: a firm FUCK OFF to modernity, both in black metal and mankind in general. Fiery is their surge and yet somehow lifeless simultaneously – or more accurately, anti-life – and so, too, do their riffing ring out with hatred and misery, both inward and outward. However, across the seven-song/55-minute duration of Misty Breath of Ancient Forests will one find Sad striking upon more epic territory, especially as the album continues, the two parts of the title track serving as mysticism-drenched gates to forgotten realms and unblemished landscapes…

Like ancient forests
Untouched by time
Like morning fog
Breathing fog
Our true selves lurk
Waiting to be remembered

From paradigmatic Judas Iscariot to Horna at their most melodic, Sad proudly uphold the banner of black metal purity, and with Misty Breath of Ancient Forests do they plant that banner within the soil of the immortal and immovable.

Begin rooting in that soil with the brand-new track “White Death” HERE at Purity ThroughFire‘s official YouTube channel. Cover artwork, courtesy of Sang Ho Moon, and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Sad (Greece)’s Misty Breath of Ancient Forests
1. Self Hatred
2. Enjoy Your Pettiness
3. Misty Breath Of Ancient Forests (part I)
4. White Death
5. Hellish Ride
6. Misty Breath Of Ancient Forests (part II)
7. Hades Gazing


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More