Funeral Doom Band APHONIC THRENODY premiere pensive track on The Obelisk

It’s a truly diseased world we live in, and nothing reflects this better than the unending barrage of art that questions the dauntingly decadent existence all around us. The search for the excesses of the external world often lead to the questioning  of the inner self, as atmospheric death/funeral doom band Aphonic Threnody make impressively clear in their ‘Interrogation’ track, whose lyric video premiered on The Obelisk recently. The track is from the band’s upcoming The Great Hatred full-length, a mesmerizing journey through deep and dark crevices along the way to understanding ‘the human condition’. You can read more and check out the premiere AT THIS LINK, An excerpt –

“With “Locura” setting the stage for an airing of miseries, “Interrogation” follows and centers itself around the question “Does it even matter at all?” — the universe sucks so I’m going to say probably no — and is one of three tracks on the album to top 10 minutes. Make no mistake, however, it’s all a slog and that’s precisely how it’s intended.”


– “crushing” – No Clean Singing (US) 

– ” doom metal in the purest and most cataclysmic sense of the word” – Two Guys Metal Reviews (US)

– “a brilliant performance album” – Dioses del Metal (Spain)

– “Left me speechless” – Greek Rebels (Greece)

– “all I can say is “fuck yes” over and over again even after several listens” – Head Banger Reviews (US)

– “a brilliant performance album” – Glacially Musical (US)

Aphonic Threnody:  (International) – The Great Hatred (October 16th, 2020)

Genre – Atmospheric Death/Doom Metal
Release Date – October 16th, 2020
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records

For fans of – My Dying Bride, Paradise Lost, Noctu, Officium Triste, Poema Arcanvs, early Anathema, Illimitable Dolor, Towards Atlantis Lights, Et Moriemur

Members of Towards Atlantis Lights, Dea Marica, Arrant Saudade and more collaborate to conjure up the finest kind of death/doom metal that encompasses the best qualities this style has to offer – stirring melodies, heaving riffs, immersive atmosphere, and some of the lowest, most anguished vocals possible alternating with lucid, spoken passages. None of it is overbearing or lingers on for too long as the songs waft through the doom vacuum, making their presence felt and imperceptibly changing something inside the unsuspecting listener. Much happens during the course of the hour and Aphonic Threnody don’t follow a strict formula, leaving things open-ended and unpredictable as they keep changing things around without disrupting the emotional temperament. The Great Hatred makes for an engaging listen and will make you come back to unravel its richly layered and elegantly intertwined compositions. It’s akin to living life all over again. And again. 

Band lineup –
Juan Escobar C. (Arrant Saudade) – Vocals, Bass, Guitar & Keys
Riccardo Veronese (Towards Atlantis Lights, Dea Marica) – Guitars

Artwork by Misanthropic Art (Xpus, Death Courier)

Track listing –
1. Locura
2. Interrogation
3. The Great Hatred
4. Drowning
5. The Rise Of The Phoenix
6. The Fall

Official Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Site

Transcending Obscurity Official YouTube Channel

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

Aphonic Threnody Facebook

Related posts

Funeral doom outfit APHONIC THRENODY premiere majestic track via Captured Howls


Funeral Doom Band APHONIC THRENODY premiere eviscerating track on No Clean Singing


New album: ‘The Great Hatred’ by atmospheric death/doom band APHONIC THRENODY


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.