Greek groove-metal band CALYCES stream new track ft. Jørgen Munkeby (Shining)

‘Unfair Labor’ streaming now

Debut LP Impulse to Soar released 16th October

FFO: BaronessMastodonGojiraIntronaut

Not many things are as exciting as new beginnings. Enter CALYCES, the new Greek groove metal quartet, who have streamed another new track from their forthcoming debut LP Impulse to Soar (due to be released 16th October).

‘Unfair Labor’ features a guest saxophone solo from Shining‘s Jørgen Munkeby, and was premiered on Decibel Magazine, who said of the record: it’s “a broad spanning beast of massive, yet digestible, melodic strains, understated complexity, pulsating dynamics and lots of neat-o baritone vocalizing”.

You can now listen to ‘Unfair Labor’ here:

Pre-order Impulse to Soar here:

Calyces – Unfair Labor

Fronted by ex-Tardive Dyskinesia vocalist Manthos StergiouCALYCES are a new force on the Greek metal scene.

The soon-to-be-released Impulse to Soar blends prog metal in the way it was shaped through the 00’s, with the finest elements of classic progressive rock from the 70’s, but all with a very 2020 twist. Low-tuned heavy riffs meld with a barrage of polyrhythmic attacks, atmospheric passages, and full-on groove, melody, and energy. An enervating and invigorating first step on to the scene; a record that will add to the collections of all supporters of modern-age MastodonAlice In ChainsIntronautKing CrimsonBaronessToolGojira

Additional flair and artistry was provided by JørgenMunkeby (Shining) with a saxophone solo on ‘Unfair Labour’ and of Chrysa Tsaltampasi (SpinelessBella Fuzz) with vocals on ‘Beyond Sight’. Mastered by Grammy award-winning engineer, Alan Douches (MastodonKvelertakThe Dillinger Escape Plan etc) Impulse to Soar was recorded in various studios around Athens with these carefully selected collaborators in order to achieve the band’s desired natural, organic sound. Human substance intertwines with artistic complexity to create a thrilling and exhilaratingly impressive debut full-length.

1. False Awakening
2. Ego Dries Up the Ocean
3. Those Flames are Dancing Wild
4. Parasites
5. The Great Void
6. Wired Crown
7. Unfair Labor
8. Home
9. Beyond Sight
10. Uneven Loops (Instrumental)
11. We’re Lost, but it’s ok (Instrumental)

A new vehicle has formed; a metaphor for rebirth and new shape of life. Calyces – the sepals that form a protective layer around a budding flower – is a fitting name for this most exquisite and yet powerful of groups. Forming in 2018, the quartet are made up of well-known Greek musicians, beyond ManthosAlexis Stavropoulos (drums), Giannis Golfis (guitar) and Stelios Tragos (bass), all of them already key members in the bands InsectRadio and Revenge OfThe Giant Face.

The stunning artwork for Impulse to Soar was painted by Maria Stergiou, the vocalist’s sister.

For more information:

Related posts

Greek metal band CALYCES release new single/video ‘The Great Void’ (FFO: Mastodon, Baroness, Gojira)


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.