GOREPHILIA Launch Full Album Stream for “In the Eye of Nothing”

Finnish fiends GOREPHILIA has tapped Decibel Magazine for the exclusive premiere of the band’s third album In The Eye of Nothing. The stream comes just two days ahead of the album’s much-anticipated release on DARK DESCENT RECORDS and ME SACO UN OJO RECORDS.

Listen to In the Eye of Nothing now at:

In the Eye of Nothing will be out October 2 on vinyl, digital and CD formats.



Dark Descent Store:

“At nine tracks of varying lengths, In the Eye of Nothing distills death metal down to a pure, thought-out form. Thick, plodding riffs anchor the record, each one sounding like it was carefully chosen and put in its place.”
– Decibel Magazine

“Pure and simple: If you love death metal, you’ll need this here record.”
– Last Rites

 “Do not allow yourself to miss this album if you care at all about Death Metal, it is total macabre ecstasy.” (9/10)
– Nattskog’s Blog

“The dark atmosphere that usually characterizes Finnish bands is fully present again. The musical style is again in line with American death metal from the vein of Morbid Angel and Immolation. Mandatory.” (9/10)
– Arrow Lords of Metal

“This is a very memorable and catchy album, and it should be recognized by the metal community!” (9/10)
– Broken Tomb Magazine

“This is ideally served death metal hitting at the right time when horror is in the air, and blood is ripe to be shed.”
– Meat Mead Metal

“Classic minded death metal mastery.”
– Breaking Necks

“Gorephilia have produced an excellent slab of hulking, fleshy Death Metal.”
– Swallowed In Black

“A modern brutal death metal sound, with stains of old-school; a more American type of death metal.”
– Swedish Metal

Although initially going under the moniker Goretexx, since the latter part of 2007, Finland’s GOREPHILIA have been crafting a classically minded canon of death metal might. Two demos under this more-fitting moniker followed in 2008 and 2011, but it was 2011’s Ascend to Chaos mini-album where the GOREPHILIA legend truly took flight. Surely, their country of origin signaled some of their aesthetic – names such as Demigod, Convulse, and Adramalech rang true – but even this early on, subtle twists of their own identity crept in. Those would fully blossom the next year with the debut album, Embodiment of Death. Aptly titled, this first full-length ranged beyond Finland to the rich history of ‘90s death metal on both side of the Atlantic, again with an even more pronounced identity: swampy yet clear-headed, exceptionally tight but never sterile, and above all, mind-mangling songwriting that somehow sticks in your head.

It would take another five years before GOREPHILIA would deliver their next album. When it at last arrived, in early 2017, it was very much worth the wait. Graced with literally electrifying cover art, Severed Monolith matched it musically, showing even-more-twisted prowess in the songwriting department, here largely handled by founding guitarist Jukka. This second album also saw the arrival of prolific drummer Kauko Kuusisalo and second guitarist Pauli Gurko. GOREPHILIA were truly a well-oiled machine at this point.

While no doubt still reeling from the tragic loss of founding vocalist Henu – GOREPHILIA soldiered on, undaunted, and now return with their long-awaited third album, In the Eye of Nothing. With Jukka now also handling vocals, the four-piece GOREPHILIA exhibit a newfound sense of slithering finesse, that swampiness of old expounded upon with startling effect. Right from the very beginning, with ominous opener “Walls of Weeping Eyes,” the band exhibit a throttling energy no matter the tempo; each moment, every mesmerizing ‘n’ martial riff, is parceled out with precision, in place exactly where it needs to be and thoroughly maximized to its fullest effect. Which is all to say that the songwriting across In the Eye of Nothing has hit a fever pitch of perfection, channeling the diabolical fervor of early Morbid Angel with the strident command they’d exhibit as the ‘90s progressed, but obviously with the cosmic horror GOREPHILIA have been characteristically exhibiting all these years. In fact, one could point to a telltale track like “Ouroboran Labyrinth” for both a visual and sonic embodiment of the dread landscapes the quartet so effortlessly construct. Or, peer deeply into haunting cover art courtesy of Raúl González…inescapable immersion awaits In the Eye of Nothing.

Track Listing:

  1. Walls of Weeping Eyes
  2. Perpetual Procession
  3. Ouroboran Labyrinth
  4. Devotion Upon the Worm
  5. Consensus
  6. Simplicity of Decay
  7. Not for the Weak
  8. Death Dream
  9. Ark of the Undecipherable

Cover art – Raul Gonzalez
Mastered by Dan Lowndes at Resonance Sound Studio


Tami Luukkonen – Bass
Jukka Aho – Guitars/Vocals
Kauko Kuusisalo – Drums
Pauli Gurko – Guitars

Related posts

GOREPHILIA Release New Single, “Ouroboran Labyrinth”


GOREPHILIA Streaming New Track: “Simplicity of Decay”


GOREPHILIA Releasing ‘In The Eye of Nothing’ October 2 on Dark Descent / Me Saco Un Ojo Records


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.