AVATAR – Premieres Scaling The Mountain documentary chronicling the making of Hunter Gatherer; new album out now via Entertainment One

“Heavy as all hell and unflinching in its biting social commentary.” – Revolver

“Even when the world is turned upside down, we can count on Avatar to churn out an opus of groovy, melodic metal that sings and soars.” – Consequence of Sound

“Always fixated on a sense of groove whether it’s quick-hitting, sharp and choppy riffs or pendulum-swinging breakdowns over which maestro Johannes Eckerström presides with his snarling, guttural roar.” – Loudwire

“Avatar are back and they are heavier than ever.” – Metal Injection

“Silence in the Age of Apes a furious four-and-a-half minute blaze of machine-gun-style kick drumming, powerful chant vocals and guitar work to marvel aplenty courtesy of resident axemen Jonas “Kungen” Jarlsby and Tim Öhrström.” – Guitar World

“Abundant, as always, the song includes blazing guitar riffs and frontman Johannes Eckerström’s brutal, snarling growls.” – The Pit

“Avatar continues to reinvent the wheel as they went from lighthearted humor with Avatar Country  to dark and bleak with their upcoming album” – Metal Insider

“If Avatar is out to do anything with its in-your-face music, it’s hoping to be true to its namesake as that not-so-subtle teacher, helping fans open up to another possible way of being.” – LiveKindly

Sweden’s most creative and exciting export, AVATAR, debuted their documentary titled Scaling The Mountain that follows the band throughout the creation of their critically-acclaimed, new album Hunter Gatherer. Spanning over two years and multiple countries, Scaling The Mountain gives some of the deepest insight to the band and their process that fans have seen yet. 

Out now via Entertainment One (eOne), Hunter Gatherer, marked the darkest and most thought-provoking release of the band’s near decade long career. A striking and bold manifesto, the album is an unflinchingly ruthless study of a clueless humankind’s ever-increasing velocity into an uncertain future, furthering the reach of the band’s always expanding dark roots. In 2019, AVATAR reunited with producer Jay Ruston (Stone Sour, Anthrax) at Sphere Studios in Los Angeles, California, where the foundation for each song on Hunter Gatherer was laid with the band performing altogether, as they’d done only once before, on Hail the Apocalypse (2014). The old-school method of playing as one in the studio, more akin to how they are on stage, captured the essence of AVATAR. Recorded entirely to two-inch tape, Hunter Gatherer exhibits everything that makes AVATAR standouts in the vast, rich landscape of heavy metal’s past and present.

1. Silence in the Age of Apes
2. Colossus
3. A Secret Door
4. God of Sick Dreams
5. Scream Until You Wake
6. Child
7. Justice
8. Gun
9. When All but Force Has Failed
10. Wormhole

Johannes Eckerström – Vocals 
John Alfredsson – Drums
Henrik Sandelin – Bass
The King – Guitars
Tim Öhrström – Guitars

AVATAR online:

Related posts

AVATAR premiere Official “A Secret Door” video


AVATAR share dark official video for new single “COLOSSUS”; new album “HUNTER GATHERER” out August 7th, 2020


AVATAR share new single “God Of Sick Dreams”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More