ILSA announce 6th full-length album Prayer coming November 20

photo credit: Marie O’Sullivan

Washington D.C.’s ILSA return with their 6th full-length album Preyer coming November 20th on Relapse Records. Listen to the first single “Poor Devil” on YouTube HERE and on all streaming services HERE.

ILSA frontman Orion comments on the new track:

“”Poor Devil” sprung from study of Potter’s Fields and the story of Judas Iscariot, where I found parallels with Satanic murderer Sean Seller’s “betrayal” by his best friend and Judas’ role as biblical scapegoat. For such a lynchpin in the Passion of Christ, Judas was never afforded the reverence of the other disciples; forever damned as an unredeemable traitor, while the story could never be complete without his participation. The Potter’s Field where Judas hung himself became the burial grounds of the discarded and unclaimed dead, and the name stuck to this day. Apologies to D.I.’s “Richard Hung Himself”, where we snuck a nod to the one of the best punk songs ever written.”

Preyer physical pre-orders are available HERE and Digital Downloads/Streaming HERE.

ILSA “Poor Devil”

On ILSA’s new album, Preyer, the Washington, D.C. band embraces sonic pummeling like never before. Recorded as the world shuttered away in 2020, ILSA harnessed the fears and uncertainties of  troubled times, and used these as driving forces for their unnerving metal’s raw, chaotic, and whipping intensity. The result is a new full length that delivers overdoses of crushing doom and menacing death metal.

The ghost of the Satanic murderer Sean Sellers still haunts the band. The notorious killer was the first and remains the only person executed in the U.S. for a crime committed under the age of 17 since the reinstatement of the death penalty in 1976. “These songs were written with his life in mind,” the band states. “Sean’s story is an exploitative intersection of religious, media and state authority, culminating in his 1999 execution for murders committed in a state of self-described “Demonic Possession.”

But make no mistake, Preyer is not simply a narrative or concept album. Remaining true to ILSA’s punk ethos, Preyer serves as a cathartic condemnation of a Christo-fascist society, a corrupt class dimension, and the evil cruelty behind it all. “Preyer is a wringing of these themes for the sweat and stink. Power’s destructive force, love and other extremist positions, religious fanaticism, depression & mental illness, social order and control.”

In the midst of the darkness that continues to take hold, ILSA remain observant and pull no punches. With tracks such as “Poor Devil”, “Shibboleth”, and the album’s title track, the band are poised to release one of the year’s most vicious offerings from the underground.

Preyer tracklist:

  1. Epigraph
  2. Poor Devil
  3. Moonflower
  4. Shibboleth
  5. Mother of God
  6. Scavengers
  7. Widdershins
  8. Preyer
  9. Lady Diamond
  10. Behind the Veil
  11. The Square Coliseum

ILSA is:

Orion – Vocals
Brendan – Guitar
Dylan – Guitar
Tim – Guitar
Sharad – Bass
Joshy – Drums

Official links:

ILSA on Facebook
ILSA on Instagram
ILSA on Twitter
ILSA on Bandcamp

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.