OCTOBER FALLS to release special acoustic album through PURITY THROUGH FIRE, reveal first track

Purity ThroughFire sets October 31st as the international release date for a special purely acoustic album from October Falls, titled Syys, on limited-to-199-copies digipack CD and digital formats.

By now, October Falls should require little introduction. Formed in 2001 by Mikko Lehto and expanding to a full band lineup later on, October Falls have built up a considerable canon of unparalleled power and passion, their epic, folk-inflected black metal both reverential of tradition whilst blazing new trails into the beyond. Amidst their all-enveloping album works, the band have also concurrently released somber fully-folk releases, displaying the depth of their character and the boundlessness of their vision. In short, October Falls have come to represent the enduring face of Finnish nature-oriented black metal.

Just this past May, October Falls released their long-awaited fifth album, A Fall of an Epoch, on new label home Purity ThroughFire. Widely celebrated, A Fall of an Epoch displayed the “classic” October Falls sound, so it should be no surprise that it’s soon followed by an expression of the band’s fully-folk side. Syys is that record, comprising eight songs in 33 minutes for a fully immersive and utterly spellbinding experience. Even without vocals, Syys shows that October Falls can captivate and subsequently transport the listener like few other bands; even without aggression or normal “metal” instruments, too, the splendorous landscape laid bare before the listener is just as soul-stirring, if not more so due to its sparse ‘n’ Spartan construction. No need for distortion here, nor much beyond an acoustic guitar and extremely subtle atmospheric accoutrements: Syys stirringly sounds like its cover artwork looks, a portal to autumnal majesty beyond. Step into the forest and escape from modernity!

Take the first step with the brand-new track “III” HERE at Purity ThroughFire‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for October Falls’ Syys
1. I
2. II
3. III
4. IV
5. V
6. VI
7. VII


Related posts

OCTOBER FALLS mainman reveals WOODEN THRONE – release date set for PURITY THROUGH FIRE debut, first track revealed


OCTOBER FALLS reveal new track from upcoming PURITY THROUGH FIRE album


OCTOBER FALLS set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More