VENOM PRISON release new album, ‘Primeval’; out now

Photo credit: Andy Ford

UK death metal trailblazers, VENOM PRISON, have today released their new album, Primeval – available here. Featuring 11 songs in total, the release features re-recordings of tracks from both of their early EPs, Defy The Tyrant and The Primal Chaos, accompanied with two brand new tracks. Revisiting and paying respect to their past whilst also looking ambitiously forward, Primeval effortlesslyretains all of the technical prowess and dizzying musicianship of their old material and then some.

Watch the band’s music video for their new track, ‘Slayer of Holofernes‘ below.

Of the release, the band comment:

“We are proud to share Primeval with the world, the end of an era and the start of a new chapter for the band’s life. The essence of this release was to look back on our earlier days, reflecting on where it all started and giving new life to what these songs deserved from the start. Primeval consists of demo Defy The Tyrant (2015) & EP The Primal Chaos (2015) with 2 additional brand new songs which hint where the bands future may lay.”

In a positive review of the album, The Guardian said,”As ever with VENOM PRISON, it’s disgust rather than titillation that drives their sound – Primeval is blistering death metal rooted in the horror of everyday violence and injustice.” Elsewhere, Metal Hammer also praised the release, concluding,”…while VENOM PRISON’s past is exhilarating, their future looks like it will be even more exciting.”

Since 2016, VENOMPRISON have gone from strength to strength; debut full length Animus catapulted them into the consciousness and record collections of discerning death metal fans the world over. Their follow up release, Samsara, solidified them as a serious force to be reckoned with in the world of metal, paving the way for a string of high profile shows and festival slots around the globe. On PrimevalVENOMPRISON revisit the earliest days of the band, capturing the same intensity and visceral energy they possessed from day one and adding an additional layer of sophistication to their sound by re-recording, re-mixing and re-mastering those old favourites with producer Tom Dring in late 2019. Artwork is once again handled masterfully by Eliran Kantor.

Primeval – track list:

  1. Usurper of the Throne
  2. Life Suffer
  3. Mortal Abomination
  4. Path of Exile
  5. Defy The Tyrant
  6. Babylon the Whore
  7. Daemon Vulgaris
  8. Narcotic
  9. The Primal Chaos
  10. Defiant to the Will of God
  11. Slayer of Holofernes

Primeval is available now digitally and on CD/LP. Order here.

Related posts

VENOM PRISON – release cover of “Officer Down” on all digital platforms


VENOM PRISON “Erebos” is out, release “Comfort of Complicity (Visualizer Video)”


VENOM PRISON release “Nemesis”, taken from “Erebos”, out February 4th, 2022


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More