The new album from the rebooted super-group will be out digitally on November 13 via Deathwish Inc.

Blood From the Soul is the vision of legendary musician Shane Embury, longtime member of extreme pioneers Napalm Death. In the early 90’s Embury partnered with Lou Koller (Sick Of It All) to create the Blood From The Soul debut To Spite the Hand That Bleeds (Earache, 1993). The album was an experimental fusion of industrial, metal, hardcore, and punk. And along with Godflesh, Pitch Shifter, Meathook Seed, and Scorn, they helped spawn a new wave of industrial-metal. 

Fast forward to 2020 and Blood From the Soul has awakened from hyper-sleep. Joining Embury on this new creative journey are now Dirk Verbeuren(Megadeth, Soilwork, Aborted, Tronos), Jacob Bannon (Converge, Wear Your Wounds, Umbra Vitae), and Jesper Liveröd (Nasum, Burst). 

DSM-5 is a twelve song conceptual album from Blood From the Soul. Lyrically, the album is written from the perspectives of human beings as well as sentient machines. Metaphorically, it explores the relationship between consciousness and physical/psychological deterioration amid a multitude of stresses. It reads as both dystopian science fiction as well as poignant editorial on the turbulent present and our uncertain future. 

Verbeuren’s razor-sharp percussion propels the musical vessel as Embury and Liveröd’s walls of strings and ambience infectiously build with imposing power. Vocally the material is vicious as they come with Bannon at the helm. Engineer Russ Russell (Napalm Death, At The Gates, The Haunted) also created soundscapes for the epic slo-burn closer “DSM-5”, while John Cooke and Tom Dring (Venomous Concept, Corrupt Moral Altar) contributed additional ominous noise to this final transmission.

Listen to Blood From the Soul’s “Debris of Dreams” alongside a new interview with Jacob Bannon now via Forbes (or check out the track directly on YouTube).

Look for Blood From The Soul’s DSM-5 to be released digitally on November 13th (with physical copies to arrive at a later date.  Pre-order DSM-5 here.

DSM-5 track listing:

  1. Fang Tooth Claw
  2. Ascend the Spine
  3. Calcified Youth
  4. Debris of Dreams
  5. Dismantle the Titan
  6. Encephalon Escape
  7. Subtle Fragment
  8. Terminal Truth
  9. Sharpened Heart
  10. Self Deletion
  11. Lurch of Loss
  12. DSM-5

Related posts



BLOOD FROM THE SOUL (Feat. members of Napalm Death, Converge) unveil “Calcified Youth” The song appears on their forthcoming LP DSM-5, out digitally November 13 on Deathwish


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.