LORD ALMIGHTY – Progressive Black Metal/Sludge Act Launch Wither Full Stream At Metal Injection

Hard-to-pigeonhole black metal-centered outfit Lord Almighty will finally unleash their upcoming second album, Wither, this Friday, October 16th. It is the follow-up to the group’s 2015 debut album, Paths. The Boston-based group has been active since 2013 and continues to craft a unique crushing mix of black metal blasts and rock and roll melodics that is stylistically ever-evolving into the present. 

Although the band’s base inclination is rooted in black metal past and present, their love for NWOBHM, sludge, hardcore, blues rock, and more elevates Wither far beyond being merely another black metal release with nothing new to offer. If you could fathom Darkthrone, Kvelertak, and Trash Talk joining forces with Mastodon, ZZ Top, and Thin Lizzy, you’d arrive at the expansive and fluid approach to cross-genre pollination Lord Almighty is incredibly adept at.

The band partnered with Metal Injection to premiere a full album stream of Wither. Ahead of its official release tomorrow on Friday, October 16th.

You can check out Lord Almighty – Wither HERE

Metal Injection comments on the full stream premiere of Wither
“For those unfamiliar, Lord Almighty are a black metal band out of the US with influences from everywhere. From the sheer intensity of Napalm Death, the cold black metal riffs of Immortal, and even some more subtle and sludge metal style sections akin to Mastodon.”

“While these bits are prevalent throughout the entirety of the release, the best song to use as reference is the second on the album, “Sundown”. “Sundown” manages to jump between pure attack power with aggressive, black metal style riffs. Intertwined with these riffs are more progressive, cleaner styles of playing. Progressive, and sludge influenced, like that of Crack the Skye.”

Lord Almighty – Wither Pre-order Links
Digital: https://lordalmighty.bandcamp.com/album/wither
Vinyl: https://www.almightymetal.com/product-page/wither-vinyl-physical

Lord Almighty – Wither Tracklisting 
1. Cry of the Earth
2. Sundown
3. Mercy
4. Rise
5. V
6. Despite
7. Stifled
8. Adrift
9. Hour by Hour
10. Wither
11. Hooded Three

Lord Almighty – Wither Line-Up
Keenan Carroll – Vox/Guitars
Samuel “Goose” Willgoose – Lead Guitars 
Phill Gelinas – Bass Guitar 
Christopher Narainen – Drums

Social Media Links
@lordalmightymetal on Instagram

Related posts

LORD ALMIGHTY – Progressive Black Metallers Launch “Adrift” At Invisible Oranges. Wither Out 10/16. FFO: Darkthrone, Mastodon, Kvelertak


LORD ALMIGHTY – Progressive/Experimental Black Metal Outfit Announce New Album, Wither. Launch Early Single, “Cry of the Earth”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.