American black/thrash metal band SARCOPTES release captivating EP stream!

American black/thrash outfit Sarcoptes are in the process of evolving their sound, and if you have heard any of the tracks from their recently released ‘Plague Hymns’ EP, you know that the band is causing a stir for all the right reasons. Given how plagued 2020 has truly been, it’s not difficult to see the same sense of dread and pestilence reek through the band’s music. The EP, rife with the best of multiple subgenres of metal, is now streaming in its entirety AT THIS LINK, and  has come into a well-deserved bit of appreciation from listeners all over. You can read what they have had to say below. 


– “have a great show of force and excellent execution, predominantly Black metal” – Metal Addiction (Chile) 9/10

– “don’t need an entire album to justify their existence” – The Metal Wanderlust (US) 4/5

– “sharp Black Metal and mystical influences” – Acta Infernalis (France) 85/100

– “devilishly good piece of music” – Stormbringer (Austria) 4/5

– “Crushing musicianship and a flawless execution” – Nattskog (UK) 8/10

– “an offering that is going to keep my attention for much longer” – Headbanger Reviews (US)

– “it sounds very good” – Wings of Death (Netherlands)

 – “Black metal with a lot of power.” – Dioses del Metal (Spain)

– “great finesse” – Ave Noctum (UK) 7/10

– “another  great  sounding  recording.” – A Different Shade Of Black Metal

– “breaks paradigms with its eccentricities” – Dargedik (Peru)

– “charmingly anachronistic music” – Musik Reviews (Germany)

– “sinister and vicious, ecstatically wild” – No Clean Singing (US)

– “accessible yet unquestionably extreme” – Metal Observer (UK)

– “sound that’s so tight you’ll never notice it’s only two tracks.” –  Deaf Sparrow (US) 4.6/5

– “a great release and definitely worth the 17 minutes” – Cave Dweller Music (US)

– “more than interesting” – Abaddon

Sarcoptes (US) – Plague Hymns (October 2nd, 2020)

Genre – Black/Thrash Metal 
Release Date – October 2nd, 2020
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records

For fans of – Emperor, Sathanas, Nifelheim, Aura Noir, Destroyer 666, Immortal, Absu, Abbath, early SatyriconFollowing hard on the heels of the highly acclaimed debut full length album that showcased Sarcoptes‘ ingenuity of blending thrash and death metal influences effortlessly in an epic black metal template, on this new EP they take things up a notch and exhibit renewed passion and flair further cementing their unique yet highly enjoyable sound. The two songs here are terrific examples of brilliant songwriting that weaves together myriad elements without losing cohesion or continuity. The result is absolutely thrilling and rivetting; the songs don’t seem to overstay their welcome despite being long and continue their epic and intense onslaught without ever waning. This EP serves as a perfect precursor to the upcoming full length album that is in the works. If this is anything to go by, the future of US black metal is in safe hands.

Band lineup –
Garrett Garvey – Vocals
Drums Sean Zimmerman – Guitars, Bass and Keyboards

Artwork by Ze Burnay
Logo by Christophe Szpajdel
Layout by Francesco Gemelli

Track listing –
1. The Vertigo Soul
2. La Moria Grandissima

Sarcoptes Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Site

Transcending Obscurity Official YouTube Channel

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

Sarcoptes Facebook

Related posts

US black metal band SARCOPTES deliver highly anticipated full length


No Clean Singing premiere blistering track by American black/thrash metal band SARCOPTES


American black/thrash metal band SARCOPTES release scintillating NEW TRACK


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More