ARCANA Reveals Another Single “Tailwind” From Space Rock Opera Debut EP Out Nov 6th

Debut EP Out November 6th

Rogan McAndrews (Composer, Co-producer, Guitar, Bass, Vocals) | Photo Credit: Rogan McAndrews

Calgary, Canada’s Arcana are releasing their debut EP this year, the fantastic space rock opera “Letters From A Lost Soul | Act I: The World One Forms”. They are releasing a second single and first music video “Tailwind” from this debut, which takes progressive metal and rich storytelling to a new level.

“Tailwind”  is the love song on the EP that features the heartfelt exchange between protagonist Damian and his wife Hope who long to see each other again and conveys a true sense of always being there for each other but constantly out of reach. Hope is like the sun to Damian; his guiding light to find his way home.

With lyrics that truly focus on storytelling, they take a look at the effects of tragedy and what drives human action and emotion. There is a lot of inspiration for the story from sci-fi concepts and mythology. As explained by the band in their own words:

“Tailwind is a very stripped-down track. I wanted it to feel like your standard 4 or 5 piece rock band (singer, guitarist, bassist, drums, keys) in contrast to the other tracks on this album which can get up into the 20 individual instrument range. I have been trying to write one more contemporary/pop-like track per album and I believe this encompasses that wish extremely well. It’s upbeat, quick, and it feels like you can dance to it. It is still rhythmically technical but it hides it in the 4/4 time and the drive that pushes the sound forward throughout.”

Arcana springs forth from the mind of Rogan McAndrews who developed the concept for the band and the story it was made to tell. He gathered a number of highly trained musicians from different backgrounds from jazz and rock to contemporary and classical and several vocalists to play the parts of the characters. 

Recommended for fans of Caligula’s Horse, Leprous, and Coheed and Cambria, “Letters From A Lost Soul | Act I: The World One Forms” is a thoughtful and ambitious prog metal journey. 

The music video for “Tailwind” can be seen and heard via its premiere on SonicPerspectives HERE.


The first chapter in the saga “Letters From A Lost Soul | Act I: The World One Forms” comes out on November 6, 2020. EP pre-order will be available at

First single:
“Wings” – YouTubeSpotifyApple Music

Track Listing:
1. Letters From A Lost Soul (0:53)
2. Wings (7:11)
3. Tailwind (3:55)
4. Octosun/Wings (Reprised) (9:54)
EP Length: 21:55

EP Credits:
• All songs performed by: Rogan McAndrews (guitar, bass, vocals), Deyson Thiara (drums),  & Anna Draper (vocals)
• All songs written by: Rogan McAndrews
• Produced by: Rogan McAndrews & Deyson Thiara
• Mixed by: Deyson Thiara
• Mastered by: Deyson Thiara
• Album Artwork by: Kate Depatie, Rogan McAndrews
• Member of SOCAN 
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

EP Band Line Up:
Rogan McAndrews – Guitar, Bass, Vocals (Damian), Synths.
Anna Draper – Vocals (Hope)
Deyson Thiara – Drums

For more info:

Related posts

Streaming Now! ARCANA’s Space Rock Opera “Letters From A Lost Soul | Act I: The World One Forms”


ARCANA’s Progressive Space Rock Opera Begins With “Letters From A Lost Soul | Act I: The World One Forms”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.