Montreal’s CELL PRESS Announce “Desert Breath” Off Upcoming Debut Self-Titled EP Out Nov 27th

Out Nov 27th, Limited Edition Cassette from Ancient Temple Recordings and No Funeral Records

Lineup (L to R): Sean Arsenian (Guitar, Vox), Joey Cormier (Bass), Mark McGee (Drums), PQ (Vox)

A convergence of talent from well-seasoned musicians (The Great Sabatini, Biipiigwan, I Hate Sally, Architect) makes Montreal’s Cell Press a band to keep an ear out for. A melting pot of genres and talents boils over with this fresh band that is just getting started. To entice listeners, they are releasing their debut self-titled EP this year and introduce it with the single “Desert Breath”

The raw complexity will be slightly familiar to those who are already acquainted with the member’s other projects, but it is, overall, a different animal. Cell Press has a mandate of zero compromises, played with conviction and honesty. 

With the self-titled, Cell Press has no intention of trying to find “The Formula”, which they find boring, instead, they explore ideas with punishing aggression and compile five pieces that each stand on their own and don’t sound like each other. The band explains the single in their own words:

“This is sort of an inverted “Immigrant Song” type of riff, on steroids. The refrain at the end is hijacked from a Woody Guthrie song. It was the second tune we started working on but the first one that came together and really solidified with everyone.”

Lyrically, the song is about loneliness, and not having a place or relationship that feels truly like home. For fans of Unsane, Jesus Lizard, and Converge, Cell Press is a mix of early metalcore, sludge metal, noise rock, and grindcore.

The music video for the single “Desert Breath” can be watched and heard via its premiere on TheSludgeLord HERE.

The full EP is releasing on November 27th.
Digital pre-order from Cell Press here.
Limited edition cassette pre-order available from No Funeral Records here and Ancient Temple Recordings on Nov 27th.

Track Listing:
1. Piss Police (3:35)
2. Desert Breath (2:52)
3. Blacked Out In Verdun (2:37)
4. Dead At OACI (3:31)
5. My Son Will No The Truth 11:40
EP Length: 24:18

For more info:

Related posts

Streaming Now! Montreal’s CELL PRESS’ Noisey, Sludgy Debut Self-Titled EP


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.