Progressive DM Squad CONTRARIAN Premiere New Song: “The Mega-Metropolis”

CONTRARIAN have released the third single from forthcoming album Only Time Will Tell. “The Mega-Metropolis” is available for streaming at

CONTRARIAN are set to release their fourth album, Only Time Will Tell, November 20 on Willowtip Records!




“Another truly excellent excursion from these masters of technical death metal, hitting all of the sweet spots we’ve come to expect from Contrarian.”
– Heavy Blog is Heavy

“Only Time Will Tell captures the progressive metal quintet in the act of regaining their forward momentum while reasserting their hold on the new terrain they claimed in 2019. Tech-death innovators live up to their name more than ever.” (8/10)
– Decibel

“Organic yet forward-thinking, Contrarian uses the best of the past for the bedrock on which to build their modern sound.” (8.5/10)
– Wicked Metal Review

“Another fine example how prog, tech, and death metal can be brought together seamlessly enough where not any one element over takes the action, but instead provides a very adventurous yet cohesive experience.” (8/10)
– Metal Temple

 “Only Time Will Tell can look any album from the progressive-era of Death or (any era) of Cynic straight in the eyes, without being retro or a shameless copy. Such is the quality and diversity of it that it can appeal to both the fans of traditional technical Death Metal and Deathcore at the same time.” – Jupiter Variation

“Good news for fans of progressive/technical death metal the leans back to each sub-genre’s original mastery.”
– Grizzly Butts

The “new school of old school progressive death metal” is how CONTRARIAN is described; creating death metal that is authentically original with a natural memory and understanding of the old. Rooted in early 90’s progressive death metal, but with an unrelenting forward-thinking approach. Spearheaded by guitar player Jim Tasikas, CONTRARIAN is a group of like-minded musicians that coincidentally converged on a vision of what a modern death metal band should sound like. Organic sounding, yet aggressive and melodically complex, CONTRARIAN is packed with snake-like riffage and atmospheric variations that will provide a wholly enticing listen to all those willing to take in its eccentricity.

CONTRARIAN is thinking man’s metal, both musically and lyrically. The band uses methods of fantasy and escapism to convey ideas involving philosophy, theology, and science. CONTRARIAN has been on a campaign to promote thinking man’s metal for a long time. Organic and passionate playing, dignified studio recording methods that reflects an understanding of the craft competence, evolution and succession of diverse metal history over decades.

Only Time Will Tell is CONTRARIAN’s fourth studio album. Once again, a concept album that deals with the band’s familiar topics of philosophy and theology. This time, the band’s mascot ‘ the cloaked contrarian” endeavors on an adventure of time travel for redemption and love.

Check out the official video for the album’s first single, “In A Blink of an Eye,” at this location.

Track Listing

  1. In a Blink of an Eye
  2. The Final Hour
  3. Beat The Clock
  4. Case Closed
  5. The Mega-Metropolis
  6. Scarlet Babylon [Lyric Video]
  7. Only Time Will Tell
  8. Your Days Are Numbered


Jim Tasikas – Guitars
Brian Mason – Guitars
Bill Bodilly – Bass
Bryce Butler – Drums
Cody McConnell – Vocals

Related posts

No Clean Singing Premieres CONTRARIAN Album ‘Only Time Will Tell’


CONTRARIAN Release Drum Playthrough Video for “Scarlet Babylon”


CONTRARIAN Lyric Video Premiere – “Scarlet Babylon”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.