DEPRAVITY premiere monstrous ‘Barbaric Eternity’ on The Metal Wanderlust

Every once in a while, we come across a band that does so much more for the senses than we’d first or ever imagine it to. That’s the foundation Australian death metal stalwarts Depravity made concrete with their last full-length, ‘Evil Upheaval’ for old fans and new all around the world. With their upcoming ‘Grand Malevolence’ full-length, the band’s riff-laden, blood-drenched lyric-heavy music is poised to be among the most compelling death metal releases in this similarly-themed disastrous year. Their Barbaric Eternity track that premiered on The Metal Wanderlust is more fitting proof of the band probably finding a larger fanbase and following with everything they touch and create/. You can check the premiere out AT THIS LINK. An excerpt – 

“Even if you are a non-musician this song loses nothing, gains much in mystique, is equally effective, and will challenge you to wrap your head around what is going on musically to find your anchors. There is the most incredible feeling of release when this track reaches its most sustained, stable orthodox passage – you simply must listen to feel the effect.”


– “undoubtedly one of the best records of its kind that 2020 has produced by far” – Headbanger Reviews (US)

– “one of the best death metal releases of 2020” – Winter Torment (US)

– “a bloodthirsty, pummelling affair from start to finish” – Amnplify (Australia)

– “a sonic bloodbath of violence” – No Clean Singing (US)

– “recommended for most death metal fans” – The Independent Voice (UK)

Depravity (Australia) – ‘Grand Malevolence’ (December 4th, 2020)

Genre – Death Metal
Release Date – December 4th, 2020
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records
For fans of – Suffocation, Morbid Angel, Psycroptic, Nile, Spawn of Possession, Gorgasm, Immolation, Hour of Penance, Abysmal Torment, Decrepit Birth

After releasing a groundbreaking album in ‘Evil Upheaval’, Australian death metal giants Depravity take things to the next level on their new album ‘Grand Malevolence’ which is one of the most devastating albums of this year. It’s technically evolved, with masterful songwriting meeting skull-smashing brutality, executed with blinding speed and power. Each song is a testament to the best expression this style holds, showcasing facets of the sub-genres without allowing it to dilute the overall intensity and momentum. There’s technical death, brutal death, even progressive parts designed around the same dark and pummelling death metal Depravity are known for. It’s a clear tour de force and it might take multiple listens for that realization to sink in, because the album is so meticulous and intense that it might be too much to grasp at one go. Depravity have created a masterpiece and set high standards with it not only for themselves but for the genre as a whole, eschewing concepts of stylistic differences, trends and schools, and imbibing it all to create the most lethal expression possible. Prepare to get blown away.  

Line up: 
Drums – Louis Rando (Impiety, The Furor)
Guitar – Lynton Cessford (Entrails Eradicated)
Vocals – Jamie Kay (Inanimacy, ex-The Ritual Aura)
Bass – Ainsley Watkins (ex-Scourge)
Guitar – Jarrod Curly (ex-Malignant Monster)

Artwork by Alex Tartsus (Sepulchral CurseDe Profundis)

Track listing:
1. Indulging Psychotic Thoughts
2. Grand Malevolence 
3. Invalid Majesty 
4. Cantankerous Butcher
5. Trophies of Inhumanity 
6. Castrate the Perpetrators 
7. The Coming of the Hammering
8. Barbaric Eternity 
9. Hallucination Aflame 
10. Epitome of Extinction 
11. Ghosts in the Void 

Official Depravity Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Official Site

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

Official Depravity Facebook

Official Transcending Obscurity YouTube Channel

Related posts

Consequence of Sound streams bludgeoning new DEPRAVITY track


Crushing DEPRAVITY track premiered on No Clean Singing!


Bludgeoning DEPRAVITY animated video premiered on Slam Worldwide


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.