Streaming Now: YSGAROTH’s Thrashing Black Metal Debut Album “Storm Over a Black Sea”

L-R: Shawn Hillman (Bass) | Steve Cuddington (Drums) | Kurt Steigleder (Guitar, Vocals) – Photo Credit: Jade Weekes

Now available for streaming is the debut album “Storm Over a Black Sea” from Canada’s Ysgaroth, a progressive and technical metal outfit blending styles of old school death metal, black metal, and sludge.

“Storm Over a Black Sea” is an attempt at creating a work that is greater than the sum of its parts, each track stands alone, but only when put together does something greater emerge. Engrossed in the unique sound, listeners are suffocated with harmonies and taken on a journey. The band comments about the album in their own words:

“The release of Storm Over a Black Sea is so many things for us: validation, relief, excitement, and too many other things to say. This album took far too long for us to record and finally release, but we’re beyond excited to finally have it out. We’re trying to do a lot of things on this record: honour our influences, play some fucking riffs, and push ourselves as musicians technically and compositionally.”

With a slick balance of long songs and short songs, it is an album that people can really come back to, and absorb the small details on repeat listens. The lyrics are the manifestations of the band’s own issues with the world: regret poisoning us, our consumerist society trapped in capitalism poisoning the world, and religions of all kinds being used as another tool to divide and control us.

The mix of black metal roots, classic 80’s death metal, 90’s thrash, and sludge with the long compositions of post-metal and the shifting, churning time signatures of progressive metal is highly recommended for fans of Wolves in the Throne Room, Death, and Morbid Angel.

The album is streaming now via its premiere on NoCleanSinging HERE.

“Storm Over a Black Sea” will be available on November 13, 2020.

Album order here.

Music Video “Sacred” – YouTubeSpotify.

Track Listing:
1. Rain (1:54)
2. Nam Gloria Satanas (feat. Jessie Grace of KOSM) (7:06)
3. Sacred (5:31)
4. Altar of Scars 11:48)
5. Forward Unto Death (feat. Jessie Grace of KOSM) (5:19)
6. Deluge (feat. Erik Leonhard of KOSM) 17:24
Album Length: 49:05

For more info:

Related posts

Canada’s YSGAROTH Unveil New Single “Forward Unto Death” From Upcoming “Storm Over a Black Sea”


YSGAROTH Introduce Debut “Storm Over a Black Sea” With Blackened Thrashing Single “Sacred”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.