The Obelisk premieres pestilent track by doom/sludge overlords SUBTERRAEN

Humankind’s persistent negative impact on Earth has reached an ironic stage where human intervention may not undo the centuries of planetary abuse, and where art is but a starker reflection of our destruction through time. And as the portrayal of this destruction finds an avenue in  French sludge/doom overlords Subterraen’s impending ‘Rotten Human Kingdom‘ full-length, you get to experience the precarious condition and the sheer magnitude of the problematic stage that all life on this planet is thrust on, in all its overwhelming glory. The Obelisk premiered their sludgier-in-more-ways-than-one Blood For The Blood Gods track from the album, that you can read about and understand in greater detail AT THIS LINK. An excerpt –

“Its harshness presents a brutality that transcends tempo, and its wash of noise and low distortion becomes the trap that the rest of what follows holds you within. Call it punishment as much as portrayal, but Rotten Human Kingdom‘s indictment comes through clearly either way.”


– “an essential listen of its style” – Head-Banger Reviews (US)

– “greatness” – Metal Temple (Greece) 9/10

– “resonates with the sheer weight of the planet” – Cvlt Nation (US)

– “not an album for beginners” – Dioses Del Metal (Spain) 8/10

– “hook listeners with their unique brand of depressive psychedelia” – Antichrist Magazine (Ukraine)

– “a  very powerful  sound” – Dark Doom Grind Death 8/10

– “this opus opens the door to great recognition” – NMH Blog

– “an honest rawness and a dank, earthy vibe” – RTMB music (Mexico)

Subterraen (France) – Rotten Human Kingdom (November 20th, 2020)

Genre – Blackened Sludge​/​Doom Metal 
Release Date – November 20th, 2020
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records

For fans of -Eremit, Jupiterian, Lurk, Eyehategod, Neurosis, 71TonMan, Conan, Primitive Man 

French sludge/doom metal band Subterraen carry the torch of the style on the label, following the ponderous steps of the giants Eremit and Jupiterian. In comparison however, they add their own blackened grit and weighed down heaviness to the proceedings, crafting 10+ minute songs narrating epic, anguish-ridden tales of the slow destruction of the planet and sowing seeds of the inexorable vengeance of mother nature. The emotions are palpable not only in the harrowing cries of the vocalist but also from the palpitating, heaving music that functions as the body of this ancient beast. There is an honest rawness to it all and a dank, earthly vibe that resonates with the sandalwood fragrance emanating from the physical products, with a wooden, coffin-shaped box to go with it. From ashes to ashes, from dust to dust.

Band lineup –
Clem Helvete – Guitar and Vocals
Chris KKP – Guitar
Milvus – Drums

Artwork by Adam Burke (LurkCoexistenceAtræ Bilis)

Track listing –

1. Blood for the Blood Gods
2. For a Fistful of Silver
3. Oceans are Rising
4. Wrath of a Downtrodden Planet

Subterraen Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Site

Transcending Obscurity Official YouTube Channel

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

Subterraen Facebook

Related posts

CVLTNation premieres shattering track by French Doom/Sludge outfit SUBTERRAEN


French Doom/Sludge outfit SUBTERRAEN announce Rotten Human Kingdom


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More