Drive Into Speedy Thrashing Heavy Metal With LYONEN’s “Hard To Destroy” Off “This is Lyonen”

Tato Rivas – Guitarist and Producer – Photo Credit: Barbara Gomez

Hailing from Venezuela, Lyonen is the solo project from the mind of Luis Rivas. A clean and fresh take on classic heavy metal, Rivas intends to take the metal world by storm through his music. 

Today, Rivas shares the video for “Hard To Destroy” off the debut album “This is Lyonen” released this past August. The track is a mix of sounds, from heavy metal to thrash. Rivas composed this instrumental song full of energy because he wanted to transmit power, as we are all-powerful machines that are hard to destroy, simple as that.

Watch the video for “Hard To Destroy” via YouTube HERE.

“This is Lyonen” was recorded by Rivas as the sole musician, engineer, and producer for the entire release, aside from session vocals by Craig Cairns on certain tracks along with Jose Vegas on bass for “No Borders” and Javi One doing drums on “2 Hours to Go”. Originally fifteen tracks were recorded, but only eleven were kept on the release, some with lyrics and others that are instrumental. This was a challenge for Rivas, but overall a very satisfying experience for him. He explains further:

“In this album, I’ve been focusing on my own experiences, my ups, and downs, and most importantly how to achieve your goals with confidence. It comes from my thoughts from years ago, and most of the songs were composed years back. It is important to mention that I am from Venezuela, a Hispanic country, my native language is Spanish, but since I was a kid, I’ve been listening to music in English, it sounds natural for me despite it sometimes being hard when it is time to write your own lyrics in this language, however, I keep learning and reading to improve my writing.”

Recommended for fans of Stratovarius, Joe Satriani, and Metallica, “This is Lyonen” is available on Apple MusicSpotify, and

Fans can expect more music from Lyonen in the near future as Rivas is working on recording the follow-up album.

Previous videos:
“Revelation” – YouTube
“Lyonen” – YouTube

Track Listing:
1. Revelation (4:39)
2. Lyonen (4:54)
3. No Borders (4:52)
4. Nehme die Sünde (3:23)
5. I Am Not Wild (4:43)
6. Angels of Freedom (5:59)
7. Dancing Free (5:40)
8. Hard To Destroy (4:13)
9. Breaking The Silence (4:29)
10. 2 Hours to Go (3:20)
11. Outro (1:35)
Album Length: 47:54

Album Credits:
• All songs performed by:
Tato Rivas, Guitars, Bass Guitar, Keys and Synths, Drums Programming.
Jose Vegas: Bass guitar on No Borders
Javi One: Drums on 2 Hours to Go
Vocals: Craig Cairns
• All songs written by: Tato Rivas
• Produced by: Tato Rivas
• Mixed by: Tato Rivas
• Mastered by: Tato Rivas
• Album Artwork by: Vinnie Hummel
• Member of BMI

For more info:

Related posts

Venezuela’s LYONEN Brings A New Dynamic To Classic Heavy Metal With Video “Lyonen”


Indulge Yourself With Video “Revelation” From LYONEN’s Debut Album “This is Lyonen”


LYONEN released debut album


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.