CODE NOIR – EP ‘Jack of All Spades’ of Greek/Swedish hard rock/metal act out now

Artwork and Layout by VisionBlack

Hear Code Noir’s ‘Jack of All Spades’

Greek/Swedish hard rock/heavy metal two-piece Code Noir released their EP, Jack of All Spades. Out on November 13th via Leviaphonic Records, this five-song EP speak of the darkness of the human psyche, drawing from Michael T’s (principal songwriter, vocals, guitars, and bass) personal experiences and insight as a professional psychologist.

Ghost Cult Magazine debuted the EP alongside a track-by-track breakdown from the band architect Michael T.; Full Feature RIGHT HERE.

Stream Jack of All Spades in its entirety AT THIS LOCATION.

Listen to the previously released singles: “Supersonic” HERE and “The Devil Within” HERE.  

Code Noir is a heavy rock/metal band, having members from Greece and Sweden. Currently a duo, the group was initially formed in 2015 by Michael T (vocals/guitars), Moth (guitars), Adam Chapman (bass), and Vaart Pilgrem (drums). The members brought their background and experience from a wide variety of musical styles, ranging from theatrical music to punk rock to extreme metal. At the time, their music was a mixture of high energy modern hard rock with metal and punk elements. Shortly before the band entered the studio to record their debut, Moth and Vaart Pilglem left for personal reasons, leaving Michael T and Adam Chapman to continue. The duo completed the recording of “Burn Card,” a six-song mini-LP with two bonus tracks, released by Metal Scrap Records. 

After a futile search to complete the lineup, Michael T and Adam Chapman decided that Code Noir would continue as a duo. With the musical style moving away from the punk influences to a much more heavy rock/metal focused sound, work began on new material. This resulted in the upcoming Code Noir Mini-LP, Jack of All Spades.

The lyrics of the EP talk about embracing the dark core that human beings mostly try to hide from others (“The Devil Within”) to avoid feelings of worthlessness caused by the endless pursuit of material gain (“Supersonic”). A relationship lost because of silence is the topic of Words Never Said, while Monarch focuses on manipulation and mind control through dismantling the victim’s personality. Finally, the mini-LP ends on with an optimistic note, as there is always a way to break through the agents of control and forge a new path (“Crucify Their Way”). 

ORDER CD/Digital:


Related posts

CODE NOIR – Greek/Swedish duo reveals new track “Supersonic” from the upcoming EP


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More