ENSLAVED – announce celebratory Winter Solstice streamed event

ENSLAVED‘s new studio album Utgard was recently released into the world, the concept of which explores the esoteric place in Norse mythology that celebrates therebirth of the individual – a place where one goes for unification of that which is above and that which lies below. A reckoning of dark and light, of night and day.

In continued celebration of Utgard‘s release, tied in with the upcoming Winter Solstice (a Pagan holy day marking the symbolic death and rebirth of the Sun), the band are proud to announce a Winter Solstice streaming event for Saturday 19th December via the Revolver Magazine Facebook page, which will be followed by a live Q&A with some band members.

The digital event will feature all three parts of ENSLAVED‘s recent Cinematic Summer Tour, the revered filmed performances titled; ‘Chronicles of the Northbound’‘Below the Lights’ and ‘Utgard the Journey Within’.

The performances will be presented by Revolver Magazine, and will be repeated the next day Sunday 20th December on the Enslaved YouTube channel. The events are also collaborations with respected European festivals Roadburn, Beyond The Gates and Summer Breeze.

Stream the Winter Solstice event here: https://facebook.com/revolvermag
*Saturday 19th December @ 12PM PT / 3PM ET / 9PM CET

Tune into the live band Q&A here: https://facebook.com/revolvermag
*Saturday 19th December @ 2.30PM PT / 5.30PM ET / 11.30PM CET

Watch the Winter Solstice repeat here: Enslaved YouTube Channel
*Sunday 20th December @ 11AM PT / 2PM ET / 8PM CET
Sign up to the event Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/events/196249751984183/

ENSLAVED‘s Ivar Bjørnson commented:

“We are moving towards the end of a year where many of us have experienced disappointments and perhaps a feeling of something being lost. In our part of the world one could easily start feeling as if the daily decrease in daylight hours is a double underlining of the misery that will be forever associated with 2020. There is no point in sweeping it under the rug; the pandemic has been, and still is, a total and utter bummer. It is affecting, and in the most negative of ways: our basic social needs, our instinct to move around travel, to do our job; you want to do it – Corona will stop you.

But we do our best, and we find new paths in the dark. That is what humans do – and more often than not we are helped by not only those close to us – but by larger groups formed and joined by common interests, for example. The enormity of the support, and the strength of the community we have felt and experienced as Enslaved this year, has been fantastic. With fond new memories of a vibrant and expanding Enslaved-community throughout the very same year that tried so hard to bring us all down – perspectives start to change and brighten: these shorter and shorter days are definitely not a count-down to some impending doom on the horizon: they are reminders of the change that lies ahead of us. They will keep on darkening until that Shortest of Days – Winter Solstice. Whether you are guided and inspired by old traditions and rites like us, or if you prefer to stick to the scientific observations of Earth’s poles reaching their maximum tilt away from the Sun, before starting the way back towards warmer and sunnier days – we hope you will join us in what we expect to the be a very special and highly charged celebration of the Death and Rebirth of the Sun this year.

It does not matter if the troubles are not “over” yet – we will celebrate through music and our bonds; that we have made it through 2020, that we are still here, that we still have our community and that we make each other strong. That strength will carry over, into yet another new solar cycle – and make us ready to face whatever the coming times have in store for us.”

ENSLAVED recently announced new European tour dates for 2021:
ENSLAVED – UTGARD EUROPEAN TOUR 2021
w/ IntronautObsidian KingdomCrown
09/05 – DE Berlin, Hole44 
10/05 – NL Utrecht, De Helling 
11/05 – FR Lille, Maison Folie Beaulieu
12/05 – UK Birmingham, 02 Institute 2
13/05 – UK Glasgow, Classic Grand
14/05 – UK Leeds, Brudenell Social Club
15/05 – UK London, 229 
16/05 – FR Paris, La Machine du Moulin Rouge 
18/05 – ES Madrid, Caracol
19/05 – ES Barcelona, Boveda 
20/05 – FR Lyon, CCO 
21/05 – CH, Aarau, KiFF
22/05 – AT Vienna, Metal Meeting 
24/05 – DE Munich, Backstage 
25/05 – DE Stuttgart, Wizemann 
26/05 – DE Cologne, Luxor 
27/05 – DE Frankfurt, Das Bett 
28/05 – DE Hamburg, Uebel & Gefährlich 
29/05 – DE Leipzig, Hellraiser 

Order the new album “Utgard” here: https://nuclearblast.com/enslaved-utgard

‘Jettegryta’ official video: youtu.be/xkEXIpym5E0
‘Homebound’ official video: youtu.be/92ptxt1FQiU
Urjotun‘ official video: youtu.be/xkEXIpym5E0

ENSLAVED are
Ivar Bjørnson | guitars 
Grutle Kjellson | vocals
Arve ‘Ice Dale’ Isdal | guitar
Håkon Vinje | Keyboards, Clean Vocals
Iver Sandøy | Drums

ENSLAVED online:
www.enslaved.no
www.facebook.com/enslaved/
www.instagram.com/enslavedofficial
www.nuclearblast.de/enslaved

Related posts

ENSLAVED – announce four new live albums & postpone European tour to Spring 2022

NorthWar

Intronaut European tour with ENSLAVED moved to 2022!

NorthWar

ENSLAVED – honoured with 12-part documentary series on Norwegian TV + online

NorthWar

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close