GRIMMREAPER’s Reveals Second Single “Catastrophe of the Tragic Melancholies” Off Upcoming Album

“The Tragedy of Being” Due Out February 2021

Grimmreaper continues to tantalize listeners with the second single “Catastrophe of the Tragic Melancholies”, which is taken off the upcoming album “The Tragedy of Being”.

Calculated and cold, yet maintaining a glimmer of heartfelt hope, Grimmreaper wants to take listeners on an emotional and spiritual wave, from hopelessness in the pounding drums and echoing screams to happiness found in the grooves of the music and the hope of the lyrics.

Lyrically, Grimmreaper writes about what seems to be the default condition to consciousness, suffering. Humans seem to be presented with a world rife with torment and agony. The single, “Catastrophe of the Tragic Melancholies” attempt to make contact with Grimm’s shadow, from a Jungian perspective. He explains further:

“This is a naked look into the worst parts of my soul, my shadow, the parts of my soul and fantasies that I want to pretend don’t exist. Carl Jung popularized the idea of the shadow, the part of yourself you don’t want to see. Your dark fantasies, your malevolence, the things you turn a blind eye to, those make up the shadow, in a broad sense. This song is what happened when I realized I was capable of reprehensible actions, and that I could even enjoy them. I made contact with my shadow. The lyrics talk about how I have realized I’m not a good person, and I was very naive to think I was.”

“The Tragedy of Being” is a descent into the underworld to confront your own self. As a concept album, the tracks are listed in a very particular order to give a certain experience, but at the same time, every song is built to stand on its own as a powerful expression.

Listeners can experience the default conditions of life, tragedy, and suffering, and the options they present, nihilism and resentment, or transcendence and courage. Recommended especially for fans of In Flames, Meshuggah, and Dragonforce the single “Catastrophe of the Tragic Melancholies” can be heard via its premiere on NewFuryMedia HERE

Track download on

Music Video – “Resent” – YouTubeSpotify 

The full album “The Tragedy of Being” comes out in February 2021.

Track Listing:
1. Mind’s Mirrors Meshing Together
2. North Star
3. Prison
4. Resent
5. The Land I Will Show You
6. Catastrophe of the Tragic Melancholies
7. Road of Resistance
8. Happy Times
9. The Tragedy of Being

For more info:

Related posts

Streaming Now! GRIMMREAPER’s Debut Album “The Tragedy of Being”


GRIMMREAPER Covers Babymetal’s “Road of Resistance” With Own English Lyrics; New Album Out March 30


Follow The Shadow With GRIMMREAPER’s New Single “North Star” Off “The Tragedy of Being”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More