Niklas Sundin (formerly DARK TRANQUILLITY) Shares Epic Video From Brand New MITOCHONDRIAL SUN Album “Sju Pulsarer!”

November 13, 2020, seen former DARK TRANQUILLITY guitarist, Niklas Sundin, release his sophomore solo-album under the flag of MITOCHONDRIAL SUN, Sundin’s first public foray into different musical realms.

Following his critically acclaimed, self-titled debut album, which was released not even a year ago, the core of the music is still electronic and instrumental but “Sju Pulsarer”displays a different and probably more “black metal” aspect of the project. If the first album mainly consisted of quiet meditations on space and time, “Sju Pulsarer” (Swedish for “Seven pulsars”) throws the listener into the eye of a relentless cosmic storm, where layers of sound are shattered and rebuilt to the rhythm of ferocious percussion. As opposed to the first album, where every track had its own instrumentation and sonic signature, these songs are very uniform in style: Fast, urgent and chaotic, but still full of emotionally charged melodies and atmospheric soundscapes lurking beneath the surface.

Says the multi-instrumentalist about his new record: “The debut album was meticulously crafted, with a lot of time spent working on the instrumentation to make sure that each song would have its own distinct style and unique set of sounds. This time, I wanted to create something from the completely opposite vantage point. All songs – apart from the ambient outro – are all in a similar vein, performed with the same instruments, and read more like chapters in a book than separate entities. The intensity of the music and the repetitive and monotonous nature of the arrangements are meant to invoke a trance-like experience;  all in all it’s a short and focused album that’s best suited for concentrated listening from the beginning to the end.”

Only a few days since the digital release of “Sju Pulsarer”MITOCHONDRIAL SUN is following up with a brand new video, designed and created by Sundin himself. Dive into the cold grasp of MITOCHONDRIAL SUN and watch the vibrant, epic new clip for “Pulsar 3” here:

“Sju Pulsarer” was mixed and mastered in the renowned Nacksving studio in Gothenburg with Anders Lagerfors at the helm, and was released digitally on November 13, 2020 HERE. Vinyl and CD editions will follow in February 2021 via MITOCHONDRIAL SUN‘s label Argonauta Records with a pre-sale available at THIS LOCATION!

“Sju Pulsarer” Tracklist:

1. Pulsar 1
2. Pulsar 2
3. Pulsar 3
4. Pulsar 4
5. Pulsar 5
6. Pulsar 6
7. Pulsar 7
8. Noll Och Intet

For More Info Visit:

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More