EVANGELIST Premiere New Song: “The Puritan”

Polish Epic Doom group EVANGELIST are streaming new song “The Puritan,” a track from forthcoming album Ad Mortem Festinamus.

“The Puritan” (Track Stream)

EVANGELIST will release Ad Mortem Festinamus on CD and limited edition vinyl (300 copies) December 18 on Nine Records. Pre-orders are open: evangelistdoom.bandcamp.com/album/ad-mortem-festinamus

In times of doom, EVANGELIST returns with songs of death and destruction. The band was first started in the spring of 2008, with inspiration mainly coming from the obscure epic metal scene in the U.S., epic doom metal pioneers and metal classics in general. Major lyrical inspiration came from the twisted minds of R.E. Howard, H.P. Lovecraft, history, religion and spirituality of the ages gone by.

Their debut album, In Partibus Infidelium, was recorded between 2009 and 2011 and released in June 2011 by PsycheDOOMelic Records. Their sophomore record, Doominicanes, was recorded between 2012 and 2013 and released in May 2013 by Doomentia Records. In October 2014, a collaboration with CAPILLA ARDIENTE troops was revealed in the form of the infamous Capilla Ardiente/Evangelist 12” split on which EVANGELIST delivered their own version of MAYHEM’S classic “Freezing Moon.” In December 2018, after a short hiatus, their third album, Deus Vult, was released by Nine Records.

Almost one year later, recording sessions began on two new songs, as well as a rendition of one of MANILLA ROAD’S finest tracks, “Mystification.” These three songs were paired with another three tracks recorded during the Deus Vult recording sessions, and resulting in the Ad Mortem Festimaus EP.

Stream the band’s cover of MANILLA ROAD classic “Mystification” (a tribute to the late Mark Shelton) at youtu.be/2xMH14LSAiw.

Track List:

  1. Perceval
  2. Anubis (On the Onyx Throne of Death)
  3. The Puritan
  4. Pale Lady of Mercy
  5. Towards the End
  6. Mystification (Manilla Road cover)

Album Credits:

Recorded, mixed and mastered at JRStudio between Anno Domini 2016-2018 (tracks 3-5) and 2019-2020 (tracks 1,2 and 6) in two separate recording sessions by Jacek “Racek” Gruszka. Cover art drawing by Diego Spezzoni. Cover layout and packaging design by Xaay.


Related posts

EVANGELIST’s ‘Ad Mortem Festinamus’ Out Now on Nine Records / Album Streaming


Polish Epic Doomsters EVANGELIST to Release Ad Mortem Festinamus December 18 on Nine Records


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.