SAGENLAND premiere new track at “Decibel” magazne’s website – features members of HEIMDALLS WACHT, ASGRAW, CULTUS, MESLAMTAEA++

Dutch black metal classicists Sagenland premiere the new track “Bladval” at Decibel magazine’s website. The track hails from the band’s long-awaited debut album, Oale groond, set for international release on January 15th, 2021 via Heidens Hart Records. Hear Sagenland‘s “Bladval” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Sagenland is a black metal project from Twente, Netherlands, founded at the turn of the millennium. Driving forces behind the project are A. (Cultus, Heimdalls Wacht, Uuntar) and F. (Asgrauw, Meslamtaea), who share an obsession for traditional Scandinavian black metal such as the legendary Ulver trilogy, old Dodheimsgard, and Arckanum. Sagenland plays folk-injected black metal with a leading role for melodic bass parts, epic choirs, and acoustic guitars.

In 2005, the band released the three-track EP Bladval on a split LP. The label ceased activity shortly after, so only a handful of copies were distributed, making this a real collectors item. Fifteen years later, Sagenland awakened from dormancy and finally deliver their debut album, Oale groond. The album follows the tradition of riff-based, well-written, actual songs, while capturing nostalgia, romanticism, and aggression in a way that is rare nowadays. This is sincere and honest traditional and folkish-themed grim black metal. Lyrics are mostly in the local dialect and describe sagas and local poetry from the countryside between Regge and Dinkel, where Sagenland is rooted.

In the meantime, hear the brand-new track “Bladval” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Decibel, North America’s only monthly metal magazine. Also hear the previously revealed “‘t Leste gedicht (Twentse earde)” HERE at Heidens Hart‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Sagenland’s Oale groond
1. Weer thuus
2. De jammerklachten van Singraven – eerste deel
3. De jammerklachten van Singraven – tweede deel
4. Veur de leu van vrogger
5. Bladval
6. In ‘t bos
7. Van eigen land
8. Botte bijlen
9. ‘t Leste gedicht (Twentse earde)
10. Terug noar et laand van aleer


Related posts

SAGENLAND stream HEIDENS HART debut album at Black Metal Promotion – features members of HEIMDALLS WACHT, ASGRAW, CULTUS, MESLAMTAEA++


SAGENLAND set release date for long-awaited HEIDENS HART debut, reveal first track – features members of HEIMDALLS WACHT, ASGRAW, CULTUS, MESLAMTAEA++


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More