KNOLL announce debut album; premiere new single & video

Photo credit: TokyoAnt

Having released their debut single late last year, KNOLL have today unleashed a follow up track alongside news of their debut full length album. The group of college-age musicians have crafted their take on grindcore-meets-death metal – as showcased on their new single Lambent Urn. The track is taken from their forthcoming album, titled Interstice which is due to be self-released on February 26. The album will available on CD, digital, vinyl and cassette, and can be pre-ordered here.

Spotify | Apple Music | Bandcamp

Of the single, the band comment:
Lambent Urn is a commentary on a fruitless pursuit of knowledge and its perils, depicted in a physical sense as an ark of many forms. It is the shortest song and one of the most vocally intensive on the album, hence an emphasis on the lyrics in the video. This is the second of a string of our videos with Frank Huang, who did a great job of capturing the organic and chaotic themes of the track. Ethan McCarthy aka HELL SIMULATION also provided the utilised artwork from the album itself as well as a separate shirt design for the song.” 

Offering up discordant aggression and oppressive atmosphere, KNOLL’s first single Scattered Prism paved the way for the full length – twelve tracks of pure audio chaos, recorded with Andy Nelson at Bricktop Recordings, in Chicago, IL, this past summer.  The album was then mixed by Kurt Ballou and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege. Interstice features cover artwork by HELL SIMULATION AKA Ethan McCarthy of Primitive Man and Many Blessings.

Despite present circumstances curtailing their live activity, they have already notched up performances with The Black Dahlia Murder, Negative Approach, Sanguisugabogg, Today Is The Day and more heavy hitters. Until conditions allow for their live aural assault to recommence, KNOLL in a recorded form is just the blistering experience needed to tide us over. 

1 Callus of the Maw
2 Gracian Axiom
3 Lambent Urn
4 Impetus In Mire
5 Grasp
6 Earth’s Iron Lung
7 Door To Moil
8 Inherent of Life
9 Scattered Prism
10 Loom of Wills
11 Myr
12 Fjord Peaks

Related posts

KNOLL releases final single before ‘Metempiric’ album release


KNOLL releases new track from upcoming album, ‘Metempiric’


KNOLL announce new album, ‘Metempiric’, and video premiere for first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More