HÆNESY set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track

Purity ThroughFire sets February 28th as the international release date for Hænesy‘s highly anticipated second album, Garabontzia, on digipack CD and vinyl LP formats. The CD version shall be released on February 28th, with the vinyl version to follow later.

Hailing from Hungary, Hænesy are one of the black metal underground’s best-kept secrets. Those who have been fortunate to tune to the mysterious band’s radar, however, have been enthralled ever since… The Mortals demo in 2017 set the stage – actually credible “post-black metal” without any of the quasi-genre’s cliches, but with maximum fire and creativity instead – and the debut album Kutruzsa blew that stage apart a year later. Another year later came the aptly titled split Earth and Space with Russian comrades Moondweller, further displaying Hænesy‘s bountiful fire and creativity.

Alas, a fever pitch is reached with their second album, Garabontzia. The fact that Purity ThroughFire is releasing any record with the “post” appellation should speak volumes about Hænesy‘s credibility, both past and especially present. And indeed, that present is an immense (and immensely BREATHTAKING) one to behold, as Garabontzia almost-effortlessly reveals one startlingly beautiful landscape after another, each one ruptured with ripples of soul-reaping violence and skyscraping melody in equal measure. The paradox of utilizing supposedly unorthodox means to create music of a most pure and Spartan aspect is not lost on Garabontzia; in fact, as Hænesy prove across the album’s seven-track/44-minute runtime, it drives deeply into the very heart of BLACK METAL itself – and then pumps it with rich, new blood. Put another way, the album feels very old despite reveling in the “new”…or is that vice versa?

Many questions, few concrete answers, and therein the enigma of Hænesy finds full bloom. Behold a new era of reckoning with Garabontzia!

Begin beholding that new era with the brand-new track “Asphyxia” HERE at Purity ThroughFire‘s official YouTube channel. Cover artwork, courtesy of Rodrigo Almanegra, and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Hænesy’s Garabontzia
1. Fate of the Depth
2. Sinking Deep for a Hidden God
3. Path to the Weeping Hollow
4. Létrontás
5. Drowning of the Final Intellect
6. The Archives
7. Asphyxia


Related posts

HÆNESY reveal new video from forthcoming new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.