KNOLL release new single from upcoming debut album, Interstice

Photo credit: Jake Murnane

Memphis-based death-grind group, KNOLL have today released a new single from their upcoming debut album. The track, titled Earth’s Iron Lung, is streaming everywhere now and comes with an accompanying video created by Frank Huang.  Their full length album, Interstice will be self-released on February 26. The album will available on CD, digital, vinyl and cassette, and can be pre-ordered here.

Spotify | Apple Music | Bandcamp

Of the single, the band comment:
“This track is one of the oldest and moldiest in our writing catalogue. Definitely one of the filthier ones off of the album and one that we’ve always felt was easily picked out by crowds. We were lucky enough to work with Frank Huang again this time around – we told him the concept of this song being about rapture and the deliverance of unknowable truths, and he went nuts with it. A lot of the footage is from recordings of Aum Shinrikyo, a 90s Japanese doomsday cult, and is of course rendered with as much visual grime as possible.” 

Offering up discordant aggression and oppressive atmosphere, KNOLL’s first single Scattered Prism paved the way for the full length – twelve tracks of pure audio chaos, recorded with Andy Nelson at Bricktop Recordings, in Chicago, IL, this past summer.  The album was then mixed by Kurt Ballou and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege. Interstice features cover artwork by HELL SIMULATION AKA Ethan McCarthy of Primitive Man and Many Blessings.

Despite present circumstances curtailing their live activity, they have already notched up performances with The Black Dahlia Murder, Negative Approach, Sanguisugabogg, Today Is The Day and more heavy hitters. Until conditions allow for their live aural assault to recommence, KNOLL in a recorded form is just the blistering experience needed to tide us over. 

1 Callus of the Maw
2 Gracian Axiom
3 Lambent Urn
4 Impetus In Mire
5 Grasp
6 Earth’s Iron Lung
7 Door To Moil
8 Inherent of Life
9 Scattered Prism
10 Loom of Wills
11 Myr
12 Fjord Peaks

Related posts

KNOLL stream debut album, ‘Interstice’, in full ahead of release


KNOLL announce debut album; premiere new single & video


KNOLL release debut single, ‘Scattered Prism’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.