THORIUM Release Their New Single And Lyric Video ‘Empires in the Sun’

THORIUM release their second official single Empires in the Sun, off their long-awaited second album with the same name. 

Empires in the Sun explores the age-old notion of the ephemeral nature of greatness and glory; on how even the proudest and most unshakable achievements, institutions and ambitions are ultimately destined to be swept under by the tides of time. In the lyrics we present a character, driven by wild ambition to build, to rule – and ultimately to conquer and subjugate. Taking a cue from Percy Shelley’s classic Ozymandias, the ruler forges his mighty works with a cruel and terrible hand, certain they will stand for all eternity and for all to see; yet for all their grandeur, the lone and level sands are all that remain, in the end” – Tom Tee says.

The second THORIUM album Empires in the Sun will be released March 5th 2021 via Freya Records. The record is now available for pre-order via Bandcamp.

For the epic trilogy ‘1302’ the band acquired the help of several renowned guest vocalists: Arjen Anthony Lucassen (Ayreon), Benny ‘Zors’ Willaert (23 Acez), Joe Van Audenhove (Evil Invaders) and Anneleen Olbrechts. Moreover, Norman Eshley (Blind Guardian) lent his warm voice to provide the narration on a selection of songs.

The first music video from the upcoming album


  1. Dreams of Empire (a pastorale) (0:53)
  2. Exquisite (3:52)
  3. Powder and Arms II (3:08)
  4. Where Do We Go (4:34)
  5. More Than Meets The Eye (4:42)
  6. Empires in the Sun (5:12)
  7. The Old Generation (4:44)
  8. Winterfall (5:15)
  9. Itching and Aching (Dead-Eyed Society) (3:18)
  10. 1302 – The Minstrel part I (2:09)
  11. 1302 – The Golden Shadow (13:02)
  12. 1302 – The Minstrel part II (2:15)

The album was produced by Tom Tee. Mixing and mastering were once again handled by Simone Mularoni at Domination Studio in San Marino, Italy.
The cover artwork was painted by Velio Josto.

The album will be available on black vinyl, gold vinyl, yellow/blue swirl vinyl (limited availability), on CD, and on all online streaming platforms. All pre-orders (before March 5th 2021) will receive several exclusive items from the band.

Related posts

THORIUM release new video and single “Reign The Abyss”


THORIUM release new video and digital single “My Decay”


THORIUM to release new album “Danmark” in April


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More