Decibel premieres ferocious new song off of MORAL COLLAPSE’s (Ft. Hannes Grossmann) debut LP

Artwork by Manisha Mohnani


US-based extreme music website/magazine, Decibel has just premiered a lyric video for the new “the sun-killing single”, Denier of Light, off of Moral Collapse‘s debut full-length album. Speaking to senior writer Sean Frasier, Natarajan says, “We tried to capture an old-school, slowed down vibe on this track, which is quite like the closer on the album. You can hear influences from Carcass and early Obituary.” Stream/listen to the song [HERE].

Moral Collapse is the brainchild of Arun Natarajan (Eccentric Pendulum), Sudarshan Mankad (Infamy) and the inimitable Hannes Grossman (ObscuraNecrophagistBlotted Science). The project came about during the early days of the pandemic-induced lock-down in the two countries with a dead-set intention of writing forward-thinking death metal music that perfectly blended the ferocity of the old-school sound with the eccentricity of modern jazz and free-wheeling, avant-garde music. Previously pegged for a late 2020 release, the group had to rework its release schedule given the unfortunate continuance of the pandemic.

Listen to/watch (and share) ‘Denier Of Light’ (Official Lyric Video) on Decibel Magazine.

While the record was written and recorded only in 2020, the ideas for some of the set-pieces that appear on the record have been around since 2003 when Natarajan first tried to put the band together; at the time with a completely different line-up. A considerable portion of the oddball, free-wheeling music is purely improvised and played with utmost spontaneity. The 36-min long record was completely mixed and mastered by Hannes Grossmann at his studio in Germany, Mordor Sounds with most of the recording & engineering (sans drums) done at Natarajan’s own studio in Bangalore, India.

Moral Collapse’s s/t record is releasing worldwide on LP/CD/DD via Subcontinental Records on the 2nd April, 2021.  Pre-orders for the release and all merch are now available on the label’s Bandcamp, [HERE]. The album will be available on all streaming services including YouTube, Spotify and Apple Music.

Moral Collapse is,
Arun Natarajan on vocals, guitars & bass
Hannes Grossmann on drums
Sudarshan Mankad on guitars


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.