PUPIL SLICER new single, ‘Interlocutor’, premiering now

credit: Andy Ford

London, UK mathcore trio PUPIL SLICER are today premiering their brand new single, Interlocutor, and its accompanying music video via Revolver Magazine. The track is the third single to be taken from PUPIL SLICER’s upcoming debut album, Mirrors, due for release on March 12 via Prosthetic Records.

Interlocutor will be available on all digital platforms from tomorrow.

Pre-order Mirrors here.


Speaking on Interlocutor‘s release, Katie Davies (vocals/guitars) comments: “We wanted to present different facets of our sound with each single we put out from Mirrors. Where Wounds Upon My Skin and L’Appel Du Vide were two different takes on more conventional song structures, Interlocutor is a look into some of our more direct and immediate work, a musical train of thought running off the rails, constantly evolving in one direction. This theme is reflected in the lyrics which tell of an internal struggle, a fight between a voice of reason and love of life pitted against a twisted mirror image of crushing depression and self-loathing.”Josh Andrews (drums) adds: “In this music video we wanted to go beyond the more typical style of performance videos common to metal and create a stronger narrative to effectively explore the concepts that are core to Kate’s lyrics. The music video features a women in turmoil and on the brink of suicide. The inner thoughts in the present self and memory of a happier childhood self are featured to highlight how oppressing and all encompassing a self-destructive mindset can become, losing touch with better times and the possibility of a brighter tomorrow.”

Having spent two years honing their craft and refining their sound, PUPIL SLICER set out to record new material in 2019 with Pedram Valiani of Frontierer/Sectioned overseeing production, and mastering taken care of by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege. In late 2020 the band released the singleL’Appel Du Vide featuring Carson Pace of the Callous Daoboys, paving the way for this full-length to follow. Mirrors captures the frenetic energy that propels PUPIL SLICER forward, making their snarling blend of mathcore, grindcore, death metal and more a truly essential listen.

Watch PUPIL SLICER’s previous music videos:
L’Appel du Vide
Wounds Upon My Skin

Mirrors is due for release on March 12.

Mirrors tracklist
1. Martyrs
2. Stabbing Spiders
3. L’Appel Du Vide
4. Panic Defence
5. Husk
6. Vilified
7. Worthless
8. Wounds Upon My Skin
9. Interlocutor
10. Mirrors Are More Fun Than Television
11. Save The Dream, Kill Your Friends
12. Collective Unconcious

Kate Davies – Guitar/Vocals
Josh Andrews – Drums
Luke Fabian – Bass/ Additional Vocals

Related posts

PUPIL SLICER premiere bass playthrough for ‘Momentary Actuality’


PUPIL SLICER, ‘Blossom’, out now


PUPIL SLICER share new single and music video, ‘Momentary Actuality’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More