CATHARTIC DEMISE Release “For Power” Guitar Playthrough Video

Progressive Death/Thrash Metal quartet CATHARTIC DEMISE have released a guitar playthrough video for the song “For Power,” the album’s first single. Watch Ben, Aaron, and Taylor tear it up at the following location:

CATHARTIC DEMISE will release full-length album In Absence on April 9. Pre-order at:

The “For Power” official video is available at The single is also available on Bandcamp.

In comparison to the band’s self-titled EPIn Absence still consists of the Melo/Prog/Death Thrash Metal elements, but with a more “mature” approach. The overall musicianship within the band improved, as well as the overall songwriting capabilities. In Absence features the same aggression as the self-titled EP, but brings an intense atmosphere with extreme tempos, and brisk riffs. This release heavily carries on the epic melodic sections heard previously, and even going further with more complex song structuring and longer tracks. Aside from the aggressive side of things, hints of experimentation can be heard, showing slower sections, and clean parts as well.

Track Listing

  1. With Lust
  2. For Power
  3. Blade in the Dark
  4. Silence Within
  5. Pale Imitations
  6. Disparity
  7. In Absence
  8. Waves
  9. Desire

Album Credits:

Album Art by Ioannis Vassilopoulas
Recorded and mixed by Jonah Kay at HM Studio, Waterloo ON
Mastered by Jamie King


Bennett Smith – Vocals/Guitars
Aaron Tanner – Bass
Taylor Wroblewski – Lead Guitars
Angus Pike – Drums

The thought of Cathartic Demise came into fruition on October 8, 2017, after high school friends Angus Pike (drums) and Bennett Smith (guitar/vocals) jammed for the first time, and immediately decided to form a group. Bennett had demos previously prepared, (two of the EP songs) and the week after Aaron Tanner would join the lineup, following a few weeks with Taylor Wroblewski (guitar) quickly completing the quartet. The four rehearsed immensely over a eight-month period landing their first show September 16, 2018. In December of 2018, the band entered into HM Studio, to record the self titled three-track EP Cathartic Demise, released April 26, 2019. For the rest of the year, the band played around Ontario, and in January 2020, Cathartic Demise would begin the recording sessions of In Absence.

Related posts

CATHARTIC DEMISE’s ‘In Absence’ Out Now and Streaming!


CATHARTIC DEMISE Release Drum Playthrough Video for “Blade In The Dark”


Canada’s CATHARTIC DEMISE Release Lyric Video for “Blade In The Dark”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More