HANGING GARDEN reveal first single ‘Winter’s Kiss’ from new album “Skeleton Lake”

Known for their never ending source of inspiration, Finnish melodic doomsters HANGING GARDEN return with their in the meantime 7th album “Skeleton Lake“, which is probably one of the band’s darkest and at the same time most diverse outings to date.

‘Winter’s Kiss‘, the first release from the new album, combines all the old HANGING GARDEN trademarks and the new influences to a highly accessible first single.

“”Winter’s Kiss is quite a fresh take in Hanging Garden’s reprtoire: a quirky gothic rock song composed as a collaboration between Toni, Jussi and Jaani Peuhu (Swallow the Sun, Mercury Circle). Jaani did the vocal production on Winter’s Kiss, and lent his voice for many of the harmonies heard on the song. The video was made in it’s entirety by Hanging Garden’s Toni Hatakka and Nino Hynninen, starring the talented Vera Schneider.”

‘Winter’s Kiss‘ now available on YouTubeSpotify and all other digital platforms.

When it comes to the musicality of HANGING GARDEN, words are only second choice. At least the words that try to describe the songs of this Finnish band and their overall artistic aesthetic. The group’s approach to their art is based on emotion. Everything revolves around authenticity, honesty and unreserved openness. All this characterizes “Skeleton Lake”, whose progression is often implicit and whose direction of effect is sometimes suggestive. There is no right or wrong here.

The connection to the seventh album of the Finns presents itself inevitably. Although the playing of HANGING GARDEN tends to be gloomy and melancholic, from to time, the songs also seem optimistic or even euphoric. Since Riikka Hatakka joined the band as a permanent vocalist on “Into That Good Night” (2019), the musical picture has partially brightened and, additionally, the sound cosmos of the Finns has broadened noticeably. The resulting impressions seem manifold and even more emotional.

But “Skeleton Lake” is, of course, also a mirror of the circumstances of its creation, as HANGING GARDEN reveal: “This trying year has seemed like an endless winter, friends and strangers huddled within their abodes, near their hearths, waiting for spring to come. At the same time, the cold north has been colder than in many years, the lightless time of Kaamos relentlessly gnawing at our spirits. As spring begins to show, little by little, the winter sun reflecting its pale intensity through the vast fields of snow, HANGING GARDEN’s seventh album begins to emerge. Being forged in the searing cold and bleak isolation, „Skeleton Lake“ is at times somber and hopeless, a crushing pressure in the freezing depths, and at times fervorous, basking in the splendor of a late winter’s sun. In the darkness, we are cold and afraid. Still, not all is lost.”

SKELETON LAKE  out May 21st on Limited Vinyl LP, CD Digipak and Digital – PREORDER HERE

Track list:

  1. Kuura
  2. Faith
  3. Nowhere Haven
  4. Winter‘s Kiss
  5. When the Music Dies
  6. Tunturi
  7. Road of Bones
  8. Field of Reeds
  9. Skeleton Lake

Visit and “like” the band’s Facebook page and stay tuned about latest news and live shows.

Related posts

HANGING GARDEN Streams New Album “The Garden”


HANGING GARDEN Shares Title Song For New Album


HANGING GARDEN Reveals Music Video For New Single “The Fireside”


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More