KOLDBORN’s “First Enslavement” album finally available on vinyl

In 2002 Koldborn put together one of the very first Danish releases mixing the death metal brutality, groove and melody. The debut album of the band, “First Enslavement“, was received with rave reviews by the local and international press.

Now, Emanzipation is proud to present the first “First Enslavement” re-release ever! First time on vinyl format, and first time available on digital stores ever! And with all-new remastered sound, courtesy of  Angioni Studios.

With a recording line-up that included members of Hatesphere, Horned Almighty, Exmortem, Frozen Sun and Undergang, “First Enslavement” is a classic of European death metal. It will be released as a limited edition LP (three different colours, each limited to 100 copies) and limited edition CD (500 units).

First Enslavement” will be re-released in LP (marble blue, grey and white vinyls), CD (digipack) and digital on June 11th 2021 by Emanzipation Productions. Pre-orders here.

Denmark, 2002. The world was suffering a heavy hangover of Carcass “Heartwork” grooves and “One Kill Wonder”, by The Haunted, was still in the works. Nobody – even the few ones that were lucky enough to grab one of the copies of their “Blessed By Beyond” demo a few years earlier – was expecting the kind of evolution Kolborn presented in their debut album “First Enslavement”. Equal parts brutality and groove, wrapped up in all-rounded technical flawless approach by the band and a clinical production by Jacob Bredahl (Exmortem, Koroded, Hatesphere, Leng T’Che). 

Firing all-cylinders, the band, led by guitarist Henrik “Heinz” Jacobsen (also of Hatesphere) entered the scene by storm, with the album being received overwhelmed reviews for its musical diversity and brutal groove with a Scandinavian touch of melody.

Martin Leth Andersen, vocalist in “First Enslavement”, recalls: “We prepared ourselves mentally by partying all by ourselves in Køng, drinking cheap, warm beer from the almost functioning fridge and having pissing contests in the manure behind the rehearsal quarters”. The result is, to put it simple, the definition of thrash/death metal made with groove in Denmark. 


01. Of Sins Sublime
02. Wicked Arise Divine
03. Blessed by Beyond
04. In Breathless Sighs
05. All Bowing Heads Roll
06. Vague Cries of Unborn Lives 
07. Demonride
08. Sunbroken
09. Altar of Your Fate
10. The Embrace of Thanatos 

Line-up (on “First Enslavement”): 
Henrik “Heinz” Jacobsen: guitars
Kim Nielsen: bass
Rasmus Salskov: drums 
Martin Leth Andersen: vocals 



Related posts

KOLDBORN re-release debut album “First Enslavement” today


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More