„Wielandstahl“ – the fifth album by Thuringian Pagan Metal Band SURTURS LOHE

On „Wielandstahl“ Surturs Lohe present nine songs, that could not be more epic and primeval. This is old school Thuringian Pagan Metal. High velocity riffing is contrasted with mighty choirs and folky use of the flute embellishes acoustic guitar arrangements, reminiscent of early works of Ulver. Lyrically „Wielandstahl“ is an interpretation of the story of Wieland, the blacksmith. Produced by mastermind Markus Stock (Empyrium, The Vision Bleak, Sun Of The Sleepless) at Klangschiede E Studio, the album embraces you with a warm, cozy sound. Shir-Ran Yinon (Haggard) and Stephan Löscher (Fjoergyn) are featured as guest musicians.

With „WielandstahlSurturs Lohe have a great gift to themselves and their audience commemorating the band´s 25th anniversary!

Album tracklist:
1. Sohn von Glut und Stahl
2. Mimes Reigen
3. Die Schwanenballade
4. Wielandstahl
5. Von albischer Hand
6. Nidungs Reich
7. Der Lahmende Schmied
8. Kelche von Gold
9. Nur ein Vogel

Release Date: September 24th 2021
Label: Einheit Produktionen / Black Megalith Vinyl / Alive


“Real Pagan Metal has a cultural historical soul, it is steeped in the mythological inheritance handed down through generations, steeped in respect for the elements and their mythology. This is real Pagan Metal!”
Alan Nemtheanga Averill – Primordial

“Even after 25 years of existence Surturs Lohe has not extinguished. On „Wielandstahl“ the band reminds us of stories from days long gone, presenting them in a soundscape consisting of epic melodies, elated rhythms but also speedy passages. We congratulate you on your persistence.”
Skaldir – Ash of Ashes, Hel

“Thuringian Pagan Metal at its best! An atmospheric journey through the dark forest of Thuringia. If you like Menhir or Odroerir, you will love Surturs Lohe!”
Peteris – Skyforger

“Surturs Lohe succeeded in creating a great album with “Wielandstahl”, which easily manages the balancing act between dreamy melodies, frantic riffing and epic goosebumps moments. A very beautiful work!”
Lokhi – Wolfchant

Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More