New BODY VOID single, ‘Fawn’, out now

credit: Benjamin Collins

Recent Prosthetic Records signees, BODY VOID have today released their new single, FawnFawn is the second track to be taken from the blackened doom band’s upcoming album, Bury Me Beneath This Rotting Earth, due to be released on April 23.

Bury Me Beneath This Rotting Earth is available to pre-order now.

Speaking on Fawn‘s release, Willow Ryan (Guitar, bass, vocals) comments: “Fawn is about our inescapable connection to the earth and all its inhabitants. No matter how violently we try to pull away from our heritage as descendents of the cosmic dust that forms all matter, we are bound to return to it in the end. Fawn is a horror story about the reality that we are one with the universe no matter how much wealth we try to put between it and ourselves.”

Recorded in June 2020 whilst the United States of America teemed with discordance and conflict under the heat of a sweltering summer and a tyrannical leader, Bury Me Beneath This Rotting Earth evolved into a document of its surroundings; a product of its environment. At Blackheart Sound in Manchester, New Hampshire the two members of BODY VOID worked with producer Eric Sauter, to process their feelings – both those that had been long festering, and those which were new and raw – into the four tracks that make up their third studio album. An additional layer of electronic filth was applied with the help of solo noise musician, and BODY VOID touring bassist, Entresol.

Lyrically, the album addresses the state of the USA within the context of the ever-decaying earth. Part love-letter, part manifesto, the tracks swing between the specific merciless destruction of climate change, and the complicit mindset that allows devastating harm to run rampant through society. The roiling disgust at the human impact on a cherished planet is juxtaposed with a defiance and devotion to embrace the Earth as it is, flaws and all. 

Far from being a lamentation of defeat, despite it’s oppressive sound, Bury Me Beneath This Rotting Earth is both a clarion call and the sound of devotion.

Watch BODY VOID‘s previous music videos:

Bury Me Beneath This Rotting Earth will be released on April 23 via Prosthetic Records.

Bury Me Beneath This Rotting Earth tracklist:
1. Wound
2. Forest Fire
3. Fawn
4. Pale Man

Willow Ryan – Guitar, bass, vocals 
Edward Holgerson – Drums

Related posts

BODY VOID, ‘Bury Me Beneath This Rotting Earth’, out now


BODY VOID sign to Prosthetic Records & announce new album; Single premiering now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More