IFRINN premiere new track at “Decibel” magazine’s website

Today, black metal magickians Ifrinn premiere the new track “Caledonian Black Magick” at Decibel magazine’s website. The track is the first to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated new mini-album, Caledonian Black Magick, set for international release on April 30th via The Sinister Flame. Hear Ifrinn‘s title track “Caledonian Black Magick” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

In 2016, the mysterious Scottish entity Ifrinn made their mark with a self-titled mini-album: a cold, swirling chasm of aural hostility and cavernous mesmerism, reflecting the ancient, bleak, and desolate landscape that the band calls home yet intertwined with the malign currents that reside beyond the veil of night.

Judiciously prizing quality over quantity, Ifrinn return with yet another release, this time titled Caledonian Black Magick. Indeed an ever-apt description of the hypnotic rhythms created by Ifrinn – and one this constellation has established since the beginning – Caledonian Black Magick is both an intensification and consolidation of its no-less-considerable predecessor. Here, the attack is sharpened to an enviable degree, finesse meeting fury headlong, as each catacomb-esque creation expands onward and outward. The vortex of sound Ifrinn create across this EP is akin to levitational hypnosis: undeniably physical in its approach, sometimes overwhelmingly so, but a paralysis of subconscious and spirit that’s paradoxically liberating and intoxicating. Despite its Highland origins, Ifrinn are without geography nor era; authentic black metal orthodoxy knows no boundaries, and its windswept splendor is timeless.

Even if it’s yet another five years between recordings, we are blessed and cursed to hearken the malign majesty Ifrinn invoke with Caledonian Black Magick.

Face the first blessing/curse with the brand-new title track “Caledonian Black Magick” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Decibel, North America’s only monthly metal magazine. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Ifrinn’s Caledonian Black Magick
1. Caledonian Black Magick [8:39]
2. Silent Seas of Sorcery [7:56]
3. Stellar Zephyrs [7:55]


Related posts

IFRINN stream new THE SINISTER FLAME mini-album at Black Metal Promotion


IFRINN set release date for new THE SINISTER FLAME mini-album


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.