THE EMBER, THE ASH – New single, ‘The Colossal Void’, out now

credit: Robin Parsons

THE EMBER, THE ASH has today released the fourth single from their upcoming album, Fixation, titled The Colossal Void. The solo endeavour from a musical polymath known only as 鬼, THE EMBER, THE ASH blends textured metalcore and symphonic black metal to punishing effect.

THE EMBER, THE ASH‘s sophomore album, Fixation, will be released via Prosthetic Records on May 14.

Listen to the single, The Colossal Void, via Bandcamp.

Speaking on the single release, 鬼 comments: “One of the fastest, most ‘black metal’ tracks on the record. The Colossal Void is continuation of the lost soul’s journey on earth. This time, death is referred to as a black sea, or a colossal void that they long to return to. They feel as though there is no guide through the darkness, and are prepared to abandon this dimension and wholly offer themselves to the black sea.”

Distinct from their work as Unreqvited, Fixation follows on from THE EMBER, THE ASH’s 2019 highly acclaimed release, Consciousness Torn From The VoidFixation is a unique blend of ice cold precision and a swirl of enveloping audio textures. The seven tracks that make up the album were written in 2019/20 before being entirely self-recorded and mixed in their home studio; mastering was handled by Nekkomix.

With a theme that picks through the debris of mental illness, 鬼 drew upon their own experiences of witnessing a loved one suffer through a traumatic episode. Exploring their own reaction to the fraught timeline of events, 鬼 channels their emotional response into the lyrics and music that make up Fixation. Suicidal ideation and spiraling thought patterns loom large over the album that is steeped in sombre atmosphere throughout. The distress of both witnessing and harboring such dark thoughts are at the core of the record’s aggressive sound as well as its lyrical content.

Fixation will be released via Prosthetic Records on May 14.

Fixation tracklist:
1. Strychnine
2. Fixation
3. Becoming the Eidolon
4. The Colossal Void
5. Celestial Fracture
6. A Growing Emptiness
7. Conciousness Torn from the Void

Related posts

THE EMBER, THE ASH – New single, ‘Becoming the Eidolon’, out now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.