INFERNO – Second song unleashed

About one month before Debemur Morti Productions will release “PARADEIGMA (Phosphenes Of Aphotic Eternity)“, the eighth album of Czech Black Metal band INFERNO, the second composition from this longplayer is now unveiled. ‘Ekstasis Of The Continuum‘ evolves into a ghostly and haunting Black Metal composition whose trance-like monotony reminds the listener of INFERNO’s roots, while at the same time one may easily get lost in the rich musical details presented.

The band comments on the best way to immerse oneself in their new cacophony:

Like a katharsis, we recommend listening to music in darkness at maximum volume or at least alone and with good headphones. But we suppose people have their own ways how to properly immerse themselves in art. However, when you let the song sink in, you are encouraged to read the “Third Sermon To The Dead” by Basilides of Alexandria, fuel the imagination with its words, and then surrender yourself to ‘Ekstasis Of The Continuum’.

Ekstasis Of The Continuum‘ can now be streamed via Bandcamp or on the YouTube channel of Debemur Morti Productions.

At first glance, ‘Ekstasis Of The Continuum‘ seems to primarily evoke hypnotizing layers of sound, but taking a closer look, one may hear a tremendous richness in details, all together creating a dense atmosphere of grandeur. INFERNO had a clear vision of where they wanted to head when composing this track:

Everything was built on the guitars, and the ghostly soundscapes were created first. The idea behind the song was to gradually escalate the tension between the tones. Even though ‘Ekstasis Of The Continuum’ sounds monotonous at first, you can hear how it builds in the background until it erupts into the finale.

When we moved from the demo creation to the pre-production phase and worked with the live drums, we realized how to take certain parts even further and so some guitar parts were re-worked. And we again returned to fine-tuning the drum performance, which serves a crucial role here. In the beginning, the drums are meant to keep the simple pulsing rhythm of the song and then to accentuate the song’s culmination as effectively as possible.

INFERNO dare to enrich their traditional Black Metal pillar with obscure and surreal soundscapes which showcase the same innovative and obscure energy one can find in groundbreaking records of BLUT AUS NORD or, also, THE CURE. Conceptually, “PARADEIGMA (Phosphenes Of Aphotic Eternity)” goes deep into psychology, cosmology and horror – primarily influenced by “The Cosmos As Self-Creation” from Czech writer Michal Ajvaz, “Time Reborn” by the physicist Lee Smolin and above all “The Red Book” of Carl Jung. All these influences are fused into six dense and interconnected compositions:

01. Decaying Virtualities Yearn For Asymptopia
02. The Wailing Horizon
03. Descent Into Hell Of The Future
04. Phosphenes
05. Ekstasis Of The Continuum
06. Stars Within And Stars Without Projected Into The Matrix Of Time

PARADEIGMA (Phosphenes Of Aphotic Eternity)” was recorded in the KSV Studios in Prague and mixed and mastered by Iceland’s producer Stephen Lockhart (SINMARASVARTIDAUĐI) at Studio Emissary.

PARADEIGMA (Phosphenes Of Aphotic Eternity)” will be released on CD, vinyl, and digitally on May 7th. Pre-orders are possible now via the label’s EUUS, and Bandcamp shops!

INFERNO came into existence 1995 in the Czech Republic, with first demo offerings “Peklo Na Zemi” (1996) and “Temná Poselství Dávných Předků” (1997) gaining significant acclaim in the Czech scene and beyond, opening many possibilities within the Black Metal underground.

Following a number of successful split releases, in the first decade of the new millennium INFERNO recorded two full-length albums of defiant and warlike Black Metal – “Duch slovanské síly” (2001) and “V návratu pohanství…” (2003) – the raw and ominous “Nikdy nepokřtěni” (2006) and concluded this period of rabid Black Metal traditionalism with “Uctívání temné zuřivosti” (2008) which merged old currents into a more refined offering, aggressive yet triumphantly melodic.

The release of pivotal album “Black Devotion“ (2009) reshaped and regenerated the creative forces within the band. INFERNO subsequently entered Necromorbus Studio to create the cacophonic and malevolent “Omniabsence Filled By His Greatness” (2013) another step-up which imbued band-members with the will to transcend their previous self-imposed limitations.

In the following years, INFERNO performed on prominent stages around the world, securing a reputation for being a savage and mystical live act. Dedicated to self-transformation and unconscious dialogue with the great other, the monumental and idiosyncratic “Gnosis Kardias (Of Transcension and Involution)” (2017) helped redefine contemporary Black Metal Art.

In 2021, the band’s most transcendent, most dynamic and finest work to-date “Phosphenes Of Aphotic Eternity” will be released by Debemur Morti Productions.

INFERNO is: Adramelech (vocals), Ska-Gul (guitars), Morion (guitars), Armagog (bass guitar) and O. O. (drums).

Related posts

Necroeucharist Productions released reissue of INFERNO “Omniabsence Filled by His Greatness” as picture vinyl limited to 300 pcs


INFERNO – video unveiled


INFERNO unveil video clip for ‘Ekstasis Of The Continuum’


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More