GOATS OF DOOM set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track

Purity ThroughFire sets May 31st as the international release date for Goats of Doom‘s highly anticipated sixth album, Shiva, on CD, A5 digipack, and cassette tape formats. The vinyl LP version will follow later.

By now, Goats of Doom should require no introduction. For the past decade, they’ve remained one of the Finnish underground’s best-kept secrets, largely because of a somewhat misleading moniker, but make no mistake: Goats of Doom are 100% black metal through and through. Their stout catalog has seen the band develop from a synth-based style of black metal during their first three albums; then, with an expansion from a trio to quartet, Goats of Doom truly began their ascent with 2018’s Rukous, where an uptick in aggression melded with the mysterious atmosphere of old. Aligning with Purity ThroughFire in 2020 for Tie on hänen omilleenGoats of Doom finally seemed to have gotten their due or at least raised their profile. Not for nothing, that, as Tie on hänen omilleen was arguably the band’s most powerful ‘n’ poignant record to date.

Alas, along comes the simply stated Shiva, and Goats of Doom once again eclipse their not-inconsiderable past works. With a wild abandon that’s addicting, the Goats here unload one anthem after another, reveling in the magick of The Moment, and keeping the METAL firmly within black metal. Despite its colorful makeover, Shiva is as obsidian as it comes: the melodicism is as medieval as ever, and the Goats‘ unique netherworld of nightsky mysticism and alcohol-fueled anger is thankfully intact. But, perhaps more importantly, the bountiful hooks here raise high the banner of heavy metal, the leads more strident and sometimes even folk-inflected, imparting that melancholy so endemic to the Finnish psyche. And whereas past works were (deliberately) rough around the edges, here on Shiva do Goats of Doom “clean up their act,” so to speak, with an impossibly professional production wholly suited to these seven skyscraping epics: the grit becomes gleam and the gleam gets gritty, each impassioned vocal intonation, string strum, and drum hit feeling momentous and muscular and yet rendered in the clearest tones possible. Above all, Goatsof Doom once again display their songwriting mastery, which stays true to their original sound and yet finds ever-newer ways to manifest its majesty.

Finnish black metal may still reign, but the time is long overdue for Goats of Doom to assume the throne. Begin the coronation with Shiva!

The first sounds of that coronation can be found with the brand-new track “Armon varjot” HERE at Purity ThroughFire‘s official YouTube channel. Cover artwork, courtesy of Spellgoth, and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Goats of Doom’s Shiva
1. ἀπōκάλυ
2. Uljas uusi maailma
3. Luomiskertomus
4. Armon varjot
5. Korjuu
6. Rotat
7. Shiva


Related posts

GOATS OF DOOM set release date for new PURITY THROUGH FIRE album, reveal first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More