Decibel Premieres Upcoming OBSOLETE Album ‘Animate//Isolate’

Decibel has premiered Animate//Isolate, the upcoming new album from Death Thrashers OBSOLETE!

Animate//Isolate (Exclusive Album Premiere)

“This is how technical death metal should sound. The band strikes that elusive course, spinning heads with technical ability and complexity, but keeping them banging with memorable moments and an engaging narrative structure.”
– Decibel

“One of death metal’s most face-meltingly delicious releases in 2021.”
– Heavy Blog is Heavy

“Animate//Isolate is the must-hear metal album of the year so far!”
– Skull Fracturing Metal

“Sharp lookin’ record, tons of riffs, their brains are attached when they shred, and the flow of the tracklist is immense. A high recommendation.”
– Grizzly Butts

“They let the music do the talking, and after listening to this album, they are making a pretty powerful statement!”
– Rock and Metal Temple

Unspeakable Axe Records will release Animate//Isolate April 19 on CD and cassette. Pre-orders available on Bandcamp and the UAR Store.

For a certain type of metal purist, extremity is defined not by blast beats and bowel-bothering growls, but by how fast a band can sand your face off with a riff that is both instantly memorable, and so intricate and alien that you can’t begin to understand how to play it on a lowly human guitar. By that metric, OBSOLETE may be that certain purist’s favorite band.

Every riff here is fine-tuned for maximum cerebral carnage. Why play a normal scale in a normal way at a normal speed, when you can play a bizarre, upside-down bit of nightmare logic at warp 9? Somehow OBSOLETE is able to bang out riff after riff in this style all over their new album Animate//Isolate. Just as impressively, they string them together into comprehensible structures and memorable songs–a collision of head-bangable death/thrashing goodness and advanced technicality encountered only occasionally in such predecessor bands as SADUS and demo-era CYNIC. Adding in occasional splashes of black metal and avant-death dissonance, OBSOLETE manages to craft a debut album that stands apart from the crowd without resorting to gimmicks or unlistenable experimentation.

With Animate//IsolateOBSOLETE have put together one hell of a first salvo. Nine tracks deep and bristling with ideas and hyperactive energy, this is a death/thrash album that any fan of either genre should hear.

Creativity. Ferocity. Technicality. Obsolete. Animate. Isolate.

Track Listing:

  1. Still
  2. The Atrophy of Will
  3. The Slough
  4. Old Horizon
  5. Silent Freeway
  6. Stumbling and Listless
  7. The Fog
  8. Callousness of Soul
  9. Intercostal

Related posts

Death Thrashers OBSOLETE Premiere New Song: “The Atrophy of Will”


Death Thrashers OBSOLETE Releasing ‘Animate//Isolate’ on Unspeakable Axe in April


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.