WRISTMEETRAZOR new single, ‘Anemic (The Same Six Words)’, premiering now

credit: Morgan Newell

WRISTMEETRAZOR are today premiering a new single, Anemic (The Same Six Words), with an accompanying visual by Errick Easterday, via Alternative PressAnemic (The Same Six Words) is the second single to be taken from the band’s upcoming sophomore album, Replica of a Strange Love, due for release via Prosthetic Records on June 11 – and further expands on WRISTMEETRAZOR‘s intoxicating metalcore sound. 


Speaking on the single’s premiere, Justin Fornof (vocals/ bass) comments: “The song is an observation I’ve made over years of playing music and being involved in music scenes. It’s indicative of both human nature and the insecurity-plagued social media nightmare we routinely subject ourselves to. We are uniquely judged by peers who don’t know us, who secretly anticipate our failures. I think it’s the most relatable set of lyrics on the record.

“I created a metaphor when writing the lyrics that I thought summed up the entire concept. You’re trapped at the bottom of a dark well, treading water while the level slowly fills. The longer you tread, the more leeches you attract. More and more effort is exerted to keep your head above the surface, and the closer you to get to climbing out the more blood is drained from your body. In a lot of ways it’s a catch-22, you either escape as a shell of who you used to be or sink and become a leech.”

Replica of a Strange Love is a modern take on metalcore; building on the foundations of their past to leave a shimmering trail of visceral energy in their wake. Isaac Hale of Knocked Loose made his production debut on the album, and also made a cameo on the first single, Last Tango In Paris. The album was engineered & mixed by Andy Nelson at Bricktop Recording Studios, before being mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege.

Through his lyrics, Justin Fornof deconstructs his own psyche in the wake of Misery Never Forgets, observing heartbreak through a philosophical lens. Replica of a Strange Love is introspective, utilizing the work of Nietzsche, Foucault, LaVey and more to make sense of human reactions and sociological phenomena specific to ongoing events. Hopeless romanticism is the past – personal philosophy is the present.

From their roots as a DIY band – Jonah Thorne started WMR as a solo project before joining forces with Justin for his creative vision before later welcoming Bryan Prosser and Tyler Norris for their eclectic skill sets and artistry – WRISTMEETRAZOR have blossomed into a force to be reckoned with. Still driven by the desire to get down in the dirt in a live arena, expect to see this four piece in a town near you as soon as is possible. 

Still fashionably dead, now is the time to take note of WRISTMEETRAZOR.

Replica of a Strange Love by WRISTMEETRAZOR will be released via Prosthetic Records on June 11.

Watch the video for Last Tango In Paris (featuring Isaac Hale of Knocked Loose)

Replica of a Strange Love tracklist:
1. Our Distress Entwined
2. Last Tango In Paris
3. Sycophant
4. Nietzsche Is Dead
5. Love’s Labor’s Lost
6. Anemic (The Same Six Words)
7. Eyes of Sulfide
8. Dies Irae
9. 99 & 44/100 
10. A Fractured Dovetail Romance
11. This Summer’s Sorrow II: Growing Old In The Waiting Place
12. All The Way Alive

Justin – Vocals / Bass
Jonah – Guitar
Tyler – Guitar
Bryan – Drums

Related posts

WRISTMEETRAZOR, ‘Degeneration’, out now


WRISTMEETRAZOR announce new album, ‘Degeneration’; Lead single and music video, ‘Trepanation’, out now


WRISTMEETRAZOR, ‘Replica of a Strange Love’, out now


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More