WINTER ETERNAL premiere new track at

Today, second-wave black metal classicists Winter Eternal premiere the new track “Crown of Stars” at heavily trafficked web-portal The track is the second to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated third album, Land of Darkness, set for international release on June 4th via Hells Headbangers. Hear Winter Eternal‘s “Crown of Stars” in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Winter Eternal is the sole work of one Soulreaper, formed as a means to express his darkest side – indeed, a place where winter reigns eternal. It all started in 2002 in Athens, Greece where, under the name Unveiled Nightsky, the seeds for the Winter that was yet to come where planted. Nine years later, in 2011, Winter Eternal were officially formed, and a year later, the first demo was released. The band’s first full-length, simply self-titled, originally saw release in 2013 as a limited cassette and, three years later, finally as a CD version.

Eternal winter was raging throughout Soulreaper’s long journey. The multitude of feelings captured in his lyrics and especially his music made Winter Eternal a unique entity within the modern underground: influences ranged from the ’90s Swedish black metal scene (Dissection, Gates Of Ishtar, Vinterland etc) to both the early Hellenic and Norwegian scenes (Rotting Christ, Necromantia, Varathron, Ulver, Windir, Satyricon etc). Truly, this was the work of an old soul, and the results were but only building in strength and sweeping grandeur…

In 2018, a new chapter for Winter Eternal began, marked by Soulreaper’s relocating to Scotland and the release of the second full-length, Realms of the Bleeding Shadows, a year later. Whereas previous recordings suggested an obviousness of influence nobly executed, here did Winter Eternal begin to add to that rich heritage rather than merely replicate it. Everything across Realm of the Bleeding Shadows – songwriting, performance, production, even artwork – was taken up more than a few notches, rendering the record both remarkably fresh and timeless.

Now, stronger than ever, Winter Eternal rampage through the Land of Darkness on their third album, and first for Hells Headbangers. Thrillingly chilling yet breathtakingly emotional, Land of Darkness absolutely bristles with an ancient-days mysticism and melodicism that bring black metal’s majestic past into the present. So authentic is Winter Eternal‘s understanding of classic songcraft as well as sympatico production, agonized and effervescent in equal measure, you’d be forgiven for thinking Land of Darkness was some lost relic released in 1997. However, again like its full-length predecessor but more so here, Winter Eternal poignantly taps into that wellspring of creation the aforementioned legends did and feeds his own lifeforce into it, flexing fluid chops along the way – always in service of The Song, of course – and returns with a nine-song/40-minute document of dreams both dark and beautiful. Nodding to his forebears, Soulreaper reverentially concludes the album with a cover of Gates of Ishtar’s “Dawn of Flames.”

Winter Eternal have at last arrived, and beckon you to venture across their Land of Darkness!

Continue the adventure with the brand-new track “Crown of Stars” exclusively HERE, courtesy of Begin the adventure with the previously revealed title track “Land of Darkness,” which can be heard both HERE at Hells Headbangers‘ official YouTube channel as well as HERE at the label’s Bandcamp. Preorder info can be found HERE. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Winter Eternal’s Land of Darkness
1. Crossing The Blackest Skies
2. Land Of Darkness
3. The Illusive Wings Of Death
4. Lord Of False Reality
5. Crown of Stars
6. Faded To Silence
7. Isolation
8. Shaped By Grief
9. Dawn Of Flames [Gates of Ishtar cover]


Related posts

WINTER ETERNAL stream new HELLS HEADBANGERS album at Black Metal Promotion


WINTER ETERNAL set release date for new HELLS HEADBANGERS album, reveal cover & tracklisting


WINTER ETERNAL sign with HELLS HEADBANGERS, reveal first track from new album


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. Accept Read More