Newfoundland Black Metal Duo ARTACH Unleash “Into the Frozen Woodlands” Off Upcoming Album June 25th

New Album “Sworn to Avenge” Out June 25th via Depressive Illusions

Coming from the bleak coastal city of St. John’s, Newfoundland, Artach brings forth a wave of black metal inspired by the cold, damp terrain they call home. Their upcoming release “Sworn to Avenge” will send a chill down the spines of listeners. Leading up to the album’s debut, they have a lyric music video for the single “Into the Frozen Woodlands”.

“Sworn to Avenge” is eight pummeling tracks, that clock in at just over an hour in total and is the follow up to 2020’s “Chronicles of a Black Winter”. What can listeners expect from this new album? According to Artach, it’s similar to the first, as they explain:

“Anyone who enjoyed our first release will be pleased. We haven’t drifted from the raw energy from the style on the first release. We have improved and tried some new things, but the format we established from the very first song we wrote hasn’t been forgotten.”

The single “Into the Frozen Woodlands” is loosely based on the book/film “Into The Wild”. Through abrasive and raw black metal, it explores thoughts of leaving the shitty world behind and wandering into the wilderness. Of course, it didn’t end well for the unprepared protagonist in this story.

Artach has been working quickly since they first formed, with the desire to play raw and noisy music. Within nine months, they had an album’s worth of material recorded. Now, a little over a year later they have more than enough for the second album.

Cold and dramatic, Artach is recommended for fans of Venom, Immortal, and Celtic Frost. 

The video for “Into the Frozen Woodlands” can be heard and viewed via its premiere on ThisIsBlackMetal YouTube Channel –

“Sworn to Avenge” is being released on June 25th via Depressive Illusions and is available for pre-order / save at the following links: DepressiveIllusions.comArtach.bandcamp.comAmazonSpotify.

Track Listing:
1. Tuiteam an Duine (7:08)
2. Ice Throne (5:09)
3. Shimmer (6:35)
4. Endless Tundra (21:35)
5. Into the Frozen Woodlands (4:49)
6. She Gathers Leaves (5:25)
7. Mistress of Black Thorns (6:24)
8. Winter’s End (8:14)
Album Length: 1:05:23

Album Band Line Up:
Fíochmhar: Vocals, Drums, Keyboards
Sruthán: Guitar, Bass

For more info:

Related posts

Newfoundland Black Metal ARTACH Conjure Up Mysticism w/ “She Gathers Leaves”; New Album June 25th


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.