DRAWN AND QUARTERED – Seattle death metal masters stream new track via MetalSucks

“grade-A old school DM, and it’s brutal almost beyond words” — MetalSucks

Photo by Phil Ginsberg

Seattle’s death metal warhorses Drawn and Quartered debut the repulsive track “Rotting Abomination (The Cleansing)” via MetalSucks (LISTEN to the track + READ full feature RIGHT HERE). The track serves as the first single from the anticipated 08th album, Congregation Pestilence, which comes out July 02nd on vinyl, CD, and digital formats via Krucyator Productions.

Drawn and Quartered vocalist/bassist Herb Burke states:
“The first preview track from ‘Congregation Pestilence’ comes in the hideous form of ‘Rotting Abomination (The Cleansing).’ Unearthed from the decomposing graves of ‘Proliferation of Disease,’ these unseemly pieces of neck-snapping and twisted riffery, crushing rhythms and merciless violence are stitched together with primitive outbursts of hatred towards humanity and its superstitions.”

Find vinyl and CD pre-orders HERE (webshop) or both physical and digital formats HERE (Bandcamp).

A formidable and influential force in the domain of extreme metal, Drawn and Quartered arrived on the scene nearly three decades ago in 1992 under the name Plague Bearer. A year later, the dark death metal group changed their name to Drawn and Quartered; the guitarist Kelly would later revive Plague Bearer as a separate project in 1999.

Forever underground, Drawn and Quartered perhaps have not achieved the level of recognition that other contemporary death metal legends have in their possession. But is it a touchstone to downplay the Seattle horde’s weight? Well, the awe-inspiring discography of 7 critically acclaimed full-lengths, a sprinkling of mini releases, and decades of mutilated live obliterations should be self-evident to determine their death metal hunger and mastery.  

On the imminent 08th LP, Congregation Pestilence, Drawn and Quartered stick to their guns without de-escalating the branded frenetic motion, interminable aggression, cyclonic complexity, or unfathomable darkness, and legitimately, the death metal veterans consider it as their strongest studio offering to date. Having new songs written for a split that never eventuated and numbers already performed live, this opus oozes a primordial celebration of violence and devilry.

1. Death’s Disciple
2. Age of Ignorance
3. Oblivion Pilgrimage
4. Proliferation of Disease
5. Dispensation (Rise of the Antichrist)
6. Six Devils (Trepanation)
7. Carnage Atrocity
8. Rotting Abomination (The Cleansing)
9. Congregation Pestilence

Kelly Shane Kuciemba: Guitars
Herb Burke: Vocals, Bass
Simon Dorfman: Drums

Recorded by Kelly Shane Kuciemba at the Plague Pit.
Drums recorded by Chris Manino at Die Burning Studio.
Mixed and mastered by Loïc Fontaine (Autokrator, N.K.V.D.) at Krucyator Studio.

Artwork by Gabriel T. Byrne (crafted cover arts for every Drawn and Quartered full-lengths).
Layout Arrangement by Loïc Fontaine.

– Drawn and Quartered –

Related posts

DRAWN AND QUARTERED – Seattle death metal horde premiere new LP at Invisible Oranges; ‘Congregation Pestilence’ out tomorrow via Krucyator Productions


DRAWN AND QUARTERED – Seattle death metallers share new track “Age of Ignorance,” LP ‘Congregation Pestilence’ out next week via Krucyator Productions


DRAWN AND QUARTERED – Death metal stalwarts debut “Carnage Atrocity” at Decibel Mag; LP ‘Congregation Pestilence’ out July via Krucyator Productions


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.