HAGEL stream long-awaited PERSONAL RECORDS debut album at GrizzlyButts.com

Today, long-running Mexican black-doom cult Hagel stream the entirety of their long-awaited debut album, Veneration of the Black Light, at heavily trafficked web-portal GrizzlyButts.com. Set for international release on May 21st via Personal Records, hear Hagel‘s Veneration of the Black Light in its entirety exclusively HERE.

Formed back in 1995, Hagel are an atmospheric black-doom band hailing from Monterrey, Mexico. The original lineup comprised Carlos Velázquez (Ulveheim, Sacratus, Noctambulism) on guitar, Luis Galindo on keyboards and vocals, Fernando Galindo on bass, and David Benavides on drums. Due to personal reasons, the band went on hiatus in the year 2000. While recordings are rumored to exist, Hagel never publicly revealed any demos during this period.

In 2014, Carlos decided to re-form the band and started recruiting musicians to form the new lineup; not too long after, the new Hagel was reborn. The new lineup consisted of Juan Reyes (Buzrael) on drums, Elizabeth Castillo (S.O.Y.G) on bass, and Ivan Saldaña (Alpha Hydrae, Hiborym) on guitar and vocals. In 2017, one of the founding members, keyboardist Luis Galindo, rejoined the band.  

In 2019, Hagel entered the studio to record their first full-length, in a professional way. Bearing the title Veneration of the Black Light, the record was finished, mixed, and mastered on December 2019, all before the world fell into chaos. In May 2020, the band gave their first preview with the single “Decalogue of Misery,” an all-too-apropos title for the times.

At long last, the full strength of Hagel is revealed with Veneration of the Black Light.Refreshingly retro or at least traditional, Hagel remain true to their original ’90s vision with a sound favorably comparable to early Mortuary Drape, The Gathering circa Always…, Switzerland’s Sadness, 1992/93-era Katatonia, old Rotting Christ, Ophthalamia, Bethlehem circa Dark Metal, and Moonspell’s classic Under the Moonspell. In other words, when everything was dark and foggy and shrouded in obscurity and mysticism, those glorious ’90s…and Hagel resurrects that, with power and authenticity, across Veneration of the Black Light – because they were THERE. Reborn…undead!

Hear the full sound of that undead rebirth exclusively HERE, courtesy of GrizzlyButts.com. Preorder info can be found HERE at Personal Records‘ Bandcamp. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Hagel’s Veneration of the Black Light

1. Decalogue of Misery
2. Veneration Of The Black Light
3. Blindness
4. Labyrinth Of Flesh
5. Mystery Of The Mortal 
6. Pergamum
7. The Blazing Glow Of Eternity
8. Whims Of A God


Related posts

HAGEL premiere new track at MetalBite.com


HAGEL set release date for long-awaited PERSONAL RECORDS debut, reveal first track


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.