Texas Death Metallers CATHEXIS Premiere New Song: “Given to the Colony”

No Clean Singing has premiered “Given to the Colony,” a track from forthcoming album Untethered Abyss by Texas Death Metal quintet CATHEXIS. Stream the song at this location.

CATHEXIS will release debut album Untethered Abyss June 25 on CD, vinyl, and digital formats via Willowtip Records. The album’s first single, “Mortuus In Perpetuum,” was released previously and is streaming now on YouTube and Bandcamp.

Untethered Abyss is the culmination of six years of painstaking songwriting and a carefully selected cast of international talent amassed to bring forward a finely tuned and unrelenting piece of modern death metal.

Untethered Abyss is eight tracks of tightly focused death metal with a production that captures the humanity and unfiltered energy each musician displays in every performance. The band’s focus on holistic songwriting seeks to create naturally flowing and memorable tracks where every riff’s place within the song is carefully considered to maintain internal consistency and create meaningful arcs within the music, rather than meander through detached ideas.

CATHEXIS strives to make unique and forward thinking death metal that pays tribute to the genres basest and most satisfying elements.

FFO: Gorguts, Necrophagist, Artificial Brain, Baring Teeth, Sunless



“These Texans have used six years of refining and fine-tuning well, and it’s made ‘intelligent’ music remarkably easy to understand.”

-No Clean Singing

Track Listing:

  1. Horizonless Realm of Mechanical Retribution
  2. Given to the Colony
  3. Harrowing Manifestation
  4. Red Hook
  5. Library of Babel
  6. Mortuus in Perpetuum
  7. Isolated Malevolence
  8. Reanimated Kin

Album Credits:

Drums, Vocals recorded by Julian Gargiulo of The Machine Shop | Dripping Springs, USA

Reamping, Mixing by Jeanne Strieder of Magma Art & Sound | Berlin, Germany

Mastering by Colin Marston of Menegroth, The Thousand Caves | Queens, USA

Cover Painting by Rodrigo Pereira Salvatierra of Absolute.Desert_Art | Calama, Chile

Album Layout by Erik Bredthauer of Necro Blanca Photography | Leander, USA

Portraits by Chris Vickroy | New Braunfels, USA


Ian Bishop: Vocals
Chris Hillam: Guitar Left
Sam Kang: Guitar Right
Oscar Martinez: Bass
Felix Garza III: Drums




Related posts

Texas Death Metal Squad CATHEXIS Signs to Willowtip / Debut Album Out June 25


Leave a Comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More...

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.